As a friend

15 18
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

We do have the tendency to pick things here and there. We notice a trend and we either go along with it or not. But we still notice it. When we hear something which is repeatedly said by people, we can’t help but be hooked with it, even just a little.

I began to notice few days ago the posts of my Facebook friends. So many of them have been tailing their posts with the phrase, ‘as a friend.’ It was not deliberate but I suddenly used it in my sentence as well. It just came out of my mouth.

I was so busy chatting here and there with students and parents. They were asking some help regarding their concerns. Even when my husband came home, I continued helping out students, through messaging and emailing or texting.

Then hubby noticed and asked, “You seem to be so busy. What are you busy with?”

I retorted, “Didn’t you know? I am busy chatting with someone. As a friend.”

Then my husband just laughed. He knew it was the viral something on Facebook posts.

But my son, irritated, asked, “What is that ‘as a friend’ ‘as a friend’ that you keep saying, mama? Eeeehhhh!”

Then we laughed harder with my husband. Goodness! No matter how much I try to be so adult, I still am prone to mimicking those that I pick from Facebook.

Some posts were…

“Bakasyon tayo sa Baguio! As a friend.”

“Anyone who wants to come to town with me? But as a friend.”

“Gala tayo sa town bukas, ate. As friends.”

And things that eventually ends in… “As a friend.”

I’m not sure about the origin of this but taking this phrase seriously sends me thinking like… It’s better to remain friends than to be apart from the one you love who regards you simply as a friend. Who knows, with the friendship, something more romantic develops? And the waiting party would just have to wait until the guy or girl realizes he or she also loves the other?

So if you are just regarded as a friend, then you are one lucky guy/girl. Given you don’t take the friendship for granted.

What do you think?

I’m here as a friend,

Lincs

6
$ 3.95
$ 3.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.03 from @Expelliarmus30
+ 1
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

Hahah, siguro nakatago lang ako sa kweba at di ko rin alam ang trend na ito. I could totally relate with your son! 😂 As a friend. HAHAHA!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ahahahaha! Dito siguro sa norte kasi iyon nauso yung klase ng as a friend na variant. Dito sa Baguio. For particular reason. Refer ka sa comment ni Mam zolabundance2. Kaya siguro di mo masyado nakita iyon sa circle mo jan sa place niyo. Iba ibang variant. Tignan mo din comment ni Expelliarmus30, for another variant ehehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh sige. Makikitsismis muna ako. hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha the title really get me😅. Napatawa talaga ako, as a friend.😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maybe you just really came here as a friend. Ahehehehe. Salamat po sa pagbisita...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome po.😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahhah alam ko po galing po Kay Donny Pangilinan yang "as a friend" na yan eh dati pa po. Sinabihan nya po kasi na love nya yung dating nyang ka-loveteam na Si Kisses Delavin po pero love yan daw po "as a friend" lang hahahha. Tapos nauso na po yan.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha, ganun ba then nagpalipat lipat na sa ibang celebrities. Madaming variant din pala yan... As a friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po parang virus maraming variant. Hehehhe yeah "as a friend" haahha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't pick up on the title... hahaha! But just so you know, that phrase became viral after an actor, who left his partner and kid, claimed that it was true he was sighted in Baguio with the supposed third party in the aftermath of the confirmation of their breakup, but he invited her to join him there "as a friend."

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yajajaha!!! Now I know! Thank you. But that is a sad thing. Hmmm...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it is very sad because airing dirty linen in public is becoming the norm because of social media.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Very true... All the more to be vigilant dapat. Kanya kanyang sabi na lng sa kanilang kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had a sound laugh with this phrase. "As a friend" too realizing your son doesn't know about the trend while you have. I believe he is still young. 😅 Hm? 🤔Might use this trend 😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ahahaha, he is just 10. He was just asking. As a friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago