Adventure of the Penniless

7 22
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Oh, c’mon! Bring it out! Bring it out! What’s up with you? Did I do something to deserve such hostile treatment? I’ve walked all the way from my house to come to you! But then you treat me this way… What a pity!

I should’ve brought some coins with me. Even just the worth to bring me somewhere on short trip. But I did not bring anything with me. Just my ATM card which isn’t a card belonging to the bank where I just attempted to withdraw.

I asked the security guard why my transactions are said to be invalid by the machine. He asked the amount I was trying to withdraw. It was an acceptable amount. He suggested that maybe my bank is offline. I tried few more times before finally asking for direction for the nearest ATM machine.

The security guard told me to cross the road. After crossing, I should be able to find another ATM machine which might be usable for my withdrawal.

I thanked him then went my way.

I have always been too afraid to cross roads. I hate taking risks on the road. Because of that, I refused to go to the directed place.

I walked on the same side of the road where I originally am. I thought of going to the nearest hospital. Surely, there will be an ATM machine near a hospital. I arrived there after a few minutes. Then there really was a machine.

I leapt to the platform then inserted my ATM card only to read the notice that they were temporarily unable to process withdrawals…

Seriously?! I thought again of my mistake. I didn’t even bring my bag with me. No phone as well. I simply put on my denim pants and coat. I was cocksure that no problem would arise with my one plan—withdraw then buy watermelon from the vicinity of that place then take a taxi home.

I walked. Defeated. If only I brought some coins with me, then I would have just rode to town and would have been able to withdraw from any of the many ATM machines there.

But I took the chance to pray instead. No time for what ifs. Just face the situation head on. It isn’t a real crisis. I have feet to carry me to places and other alternative ways in case.

For a moment, I was thankful for the chance to communicate with Him. I prayed for my child who is sick at home. My boy who is having some stomach troubles. I’ll be bringing him to the clinic this afternoon.

I said my prayers for myself, for my family, for my psychological well-being, for my children’s health, for my studies, etc…

I walked on. I walked and walked until I drew nearer to the building that the security guard directed me to a while ago. What a fool I was. I was able to get some bills out. Eventually!

Since I don’t know much about the place, I went on walking until I saw the nearest store. I bought bread, some chips, C2, then I took a taxi bound for home.

I will just let my hubby be the one to go and buy the things that we need for the day.

I arrived home, I unloaded all these at once on my device, while hubby went to buy fish at the nearest place where he could buy. For some reason, I let him do those tasks. While he is willing to do it.

Hubby came then he cooked for our late lunch. In a few minutes I will be bringing my son to the clinic. It is best to be checked out by the doctor the earliest time since it is about stomach problem.

While on the road this morning, I experienced other emotions. Good thing I still have resilience left with me. I was glad the mask was on and face shield. No one will clearly recognize me. It was a little embarrassing but what’s wrong with walking right? Hahaha.

Actually there is no problem at all. It’s just that I wasn’t ready. I wasn’t in condition. What if someone saw me? But silly me. That should be the least of my problem. What’s wrong with me? But then again, this is the sore price for being out of exercise for a long time.

Anyway, I hope you forgive me for rushing this article.

Till next time, Foolish Lincs

5
$ 3.13
$ 3.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

I feel my bones creaking from lack of exercise. We don't get rain here in the morning anymore which is the usual time I go for walk/jog but I can't find the motivation yet. It's good that you were able to withdraw finally :D Salamat sa mask at shield :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I put on more weight even though I don't eat that much. Probably due to inactivity. I use it as excuse to exercise, walking from Pinsao Proper to Holiday supermart through Guisad. Yes, thanks to mask, mejo bawas ang hiya ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May mga times din akong ganyan na nakakahiyang may makakita sakin. Thanks to face mas and face shield talaga hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Db? Hehehe. Pero ang OA ko din. As if they care. At marami naman kaming naglalakad. Dapat di ako nahihiya kung may nakakakita sa akin. Or ganun lng feeling ko since wala ako hawak na pera. After ko nag withdraw parang nawala na yung worry ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Since I was walking along with you, I have picked up a topic to write about next. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yehey! Looking forward to it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yehey! Looking forward to it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago