Frustration

2 47
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Thoughts, 2022, Writing, Freewrite, ...

I am sure that many people recognize this feeling. No matter how busy your day was, you have the feeling that you did not do anything meaningful. It feels like a wasted day. Today my day felt wasted. Not because I had nothing to do or others were keeping me from my work but because I was waiting for an order to be delivered. An order that was to be delivered on the same day. The courier company even has that name: same day.

The order is from 17 June and today is the 21st. I can live with the fact that no work is done at the weekend. Perhaps, like some companies in the UK, the four-day working week applies? You can live with anything as long as the company informs you as their customer.

The company did inform me that they would be delivering between 8 am and 5 pm today. Personally, I find that quite a large time margin and this means staying at home all day with the phone on and in your hand. I find that downright annoying, especially since I have to make some arrangements for the arrival of strangers with regard to the care and safety of my animals and the visitors who need to be on the premises.

This means getting up extra early and making all kinds of arrangements so that the delivery goes as quickly and smoothly as possible.

While one child was at work at 6 am at the company where the trainees are, I was dragging water and feed. The youngest came to help me so it went smoothly and while we cleaned up indoors and waited, the wolves were chained up. One was sleeping with a full stomach, the other was alert and sometimes one of them would start howling, followed by the rest of the pack while the wind blew harder and harder and blew down the windshield.

What to do when you have to wait?

It doesn't feel very nice and the desire to do something disappears.

After the youngest had baked a cake, we went online to look at hoovers. What we didn't know is that in 2017 the law has changed regarding the consumption of hoovers. 700 Watts is now standard. Our hoover has 1500 and that was not so special over 15 years ago.

We killed some time painting our nails. In this case, 'some' for the youngest was easily over three hours. Three hours of painting and waiting resulted in dried nail polish with bubbles. Air bubbles seem to be more common when nail polish dries. And as it is customary in our family, we go in search of the answer. There would be three reasons: old nail polish, too thick a layer of nail polish and not properly cleaned and coated nails. While I am looking for solutions, the youngest one removes the nail polish in frustration. It is strange because last time it was perfect and the polish stayed on for a few weeks.

Let me try, I suggest, after reading the tips. I roll the lacquer bottle between my hands as I do with dough and lacquer the nail of my thumb without cleaning or coating it. Pretty neat, and it dries without bubbles. One by one I paint the nails of one hand. It looks pretty neat. For the first time in my life. I am not a fan of nail polish. Those who look after animals and garden always have dirty hands, no matter how often they are washed and scrubbed with a brush. I am definitely not going to apply a second or third coat.

Maybe you should have your nails done by a manicurist, I suggest, just to see how it's done.

We look for one nearby but the Facebook site looks old-fashioned and the few comments are from six years ago. We are not keen on fake nails apart from the fact that the nails are beautiful in themselves. My child thinks it's nonsense, as do many of the other tricks that manicurists use. Just like modern hoovers, we do not know manicures or curling eyelashes. The modern world passes us by in many areas. To be honest, I find that very calming. The manicurist, like the hairdresser, is not wanted.

I'd rather have a couple of extra holes in my ears, says my child, and that concludes the discussion about whether or not to have someone else paint your nails.

Time passes and afternoon I notice that the order will not be delivered. Sitting around waiting for someone who doesn't come causes frustration. So we start looking at laptops online and read reviews other than those of vacuum cleaners. Then it's time for the plants and animals again. The order won't come anyway and I'm glad I didn't pay in advance. While one of the children cooks, I write a complaint. If an order is delivered later, I'd rather hear about it than be told it will be delivered today than be forced to stay at home and wait for nothing. My time is also precious and I do not like it when others waste it.

Prompt used: frustration

June 21, 2022

#kittywu #diary #june #freewrite #frustration #life #parenting

11
$ 10.90
$ 10.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @trixdawson
$ 0.02 from @carolinacardoza
+ 1
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Thoughts, 2022, Writing, Freewrite, ...

Comments

Preparing for something or expecting something and it turns out, it never happened could be so annoying. So sorry dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know what that means, a few days ago I had a visitor, I waited anxiously for her, I prepared my house, I cooked for her and she never arrived. Deep down I knew that could happen, meanwhile I was watching things on my phone to pass the time. I didn't want to ask her and in the end she never came. If I knew she couldn't make it, why didn't she tell me.

I ate all the cake.

$ 0.00
1 year ago