Fine dining

1 28
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Freewrite, Life, Thoughts, 2022, Writing, ...

Are you already used to the fact that there is no more flour in the shops?

Flour is not the only scarce product. Oil, sunflower oil is too, just like sugar, green tea, instant coffee and milk. Today was shopping day and I noticed that many products that the shop had on sale are not available. It feels like a bad joke. This shortage is going on for a few weeks and it has been staged. Now and then there is a box and that box just comes from the warehouse. How do I know that? The product numbers and expiry dates are the same.

I am no longer worried about the food shortage even though prices are rising by 30 to 50 cents every week. How do I know that? I write down everything I buy date included. Meanwhile, I get a large number of items at the market.

Every Friday at 6 o'clock I go for milk.

I have my own bottles filled. Today I also bought some cottage cheese and a fortnight ago butter.

I also get fruit and vegetables at the market, I don't need eggs anymore since the chickens arrived a week ago and on average they lay an egg every other day. It feels good I don't have to worry about healthy food anymore. An egg is the most complete food one can eat.

There is still enough food in the shops, even for someone who does not shop daily. What is not available at one shop may well be in stock at another. It takes more time, but for those who want to have everything on their shopping list, that should not matter.

I don't like to waste food and fruit and vegetables don't have to look perfect to me.

Things that grow and blossom are not symmetrical and square watermelons like those in Japan horrify me. Nature doesn't do cubism or geometry. With all the manipulation by man, the balance in nature is only disturbed.

It is quite possible to grow something without artificial fertiliser and pesticides. I see the farmers around me doing it. Even with artificial fertilisers and pesticides, there can be a poor harvest, or should I say that because of their frequent use, the harvest in arable farming and horticulture is becoming increasingly difficult?

We have to learn the old-fashioned farming and gardening again, just like baking and cooking ourselves. Now is the time to be creative and to avoid waste.

You can't imagine all those things you can do with old bread. Nowadays, I buy old bread again at the animal shop. It is actually quite scary how much bread a baker throws away every single day, not to mention supermarkets. How can there be a shortage of grain if bakers and cooks waste so much good food?

Those bakers baking too much day after day not only waste ingredients but also electricity and their own time. Just sell what you have and if you are out of it so be it. Is it really so bad to close the shop an hour earlier? Working to order is also an option.

Today I bought cheap new potatoes. They had some cracks in them but that doesn't worry me. The potato is cut into pieces anyway and what is not good is food for the chickens.

With a bit of creativity, it is fine dining with only 2 or 3 ingredients, at home. It has been a long time since I've been served really good food in a restaurant. As my child said, _it's a growing disappointment and you have to pay a lot for it too. When our local restaurant does not even manage to make the same iced coffee three times in a row, something is very wrong

Prompt fine dining

#kittywu #freewrite #life #dining #waste

![PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png](https://files.peakd.com/file/peakd-hive/wakeupkitty.pal/23xxwb7YSo5iLp1EbNytj4keyBxC3vkDYreo4xPWK1SYiNzWGwGAsexWoGBg7zUuc1S4K.png)

See @mariannewest for the daily prompt.

Prompt used: fine dining

[See HERE](https://peakd.com/@mariannewest/day-1684-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-fine-dining) if you like to give it a try.

5
$ 14.56
$ 14.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Knowhere
$ 0.02 from @tpkidkai
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Freewrite, Life, Thoughts, 2022, Writing, ...

Comments

Honestly, flour and every other food item in my country Nigeria is just every day scarce, and am not even ready to waste any of the little food I got.

$ 0.00
1 year ago