What If We Are Exiled

3 31
Avatar for wabinab
1 year ago
Topics: What If

What if we are exiled to space for missions?

I have the fear. I have the fear that one day, I'll be exiled to space. It's the excitement of exploring what lies beyond our solar system that brings us towards space exploration. It's the excitement that you have the power to go there and see for yourself, instead of examining via telescopes, that brings you to explore space. You want to see it for yourself, close range, with your naked eyes.

Yet I have the fear; that if I go there, I will never come back again. That if I arrived there, it's already centuries or even milleniums later. That after I arrived there, I heard my friends', families' ashes had long gone, and no one remembers me anymore. That after I arrived there, the people whom first send me out to space, whom are there to bade farewell and hope to see me on the other side of the world, has already long gone. To know that, upon arrival, nothing is the same again, nothing can come back again. Even if one come back to Earth, that nothing is the same again, there's no one we know anymore will come and welcome us back, that even if there's a welcoming event, it'll be a whole new people, perhaps our friends great-great-...-great grandchildrens, and they call us great-great-...-great grandfather (grandmother).

And to know that, there are no anchor on Earth left that let us willing to travel another few hundreds or thousands of years journey, back to Earth. That what's gone, is gone. That when we decided to go, we started a whole new journey, that has nothing to do with Earth anymore. That communication across two different lands, across light years, will be so difficult and long, that communication might not even be possible if signal isn't strong enough or in the wrong frequency, that we can be considered, two independent colonizations. Yes, we know that each other exist, but communication is impossible, so, we might exchange via slower-than-snail mail. One message per decade? Maybe two?

And even on Earth, we might lose everything one day; that what's our possession now, what's our relationship now, may be non-existential in the future. For non-living material, perhaps we lose them, perhaps we go bankrupt, or other reasons. For living organisms, perhaps we might lose our pet since they have shorter lifespan than humans (for most pets, excluding reptiles possibly). Or perhaps we might lose our friends when we argue with each other. When one day, we lose everything...

It's time to appreciate.

Remember to Like and Subscribe!

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of wabinab
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for wabinab
1 year ago
Topics: What If

Comments

Weird but unique and interesting viewpoint, I tend to think deeply by what you said. I bet you are fond of sci-fi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah hahah! Are you fond of sci-fi? Or what interests you?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah I'm fond of sci-fi but I mostly love thriller more mystery hahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago