Proud To Be Me — A Blueprint for My Life and Well-being

2 72
Avatar for valo
Written by
1 year ago

If you compare your identity to a house, what would it be like?

Pride in the positive sense has been a rather popular topic lately, though I will not ponder on the usual association with LGBTQ. People can be proud of their achievements, family, and identity. Identity goes deeper than just your name, your profession and the country you live in. We have many faces. We have experienced vastly different events that have changed our world views. This article was inspired by the story “The older I get, the less tolerant I am of change” by Harmony S on Medium.com.

How significant is pride?

The word pride has many meanings. It refers to the acknowledgement and appreciation of one’s achievements, sometimes with a touch of overestimation or haughtiness. While going overboard with pride is inappropriate, the lack of pride in situations worthy of it is worryingly common. Many people struggle with self-doubt and poor self-image. Pride can make us feel strong and powerful, yet its lack can make us feel small and insignificant.

It is hard to be proud of ourselves when we don’t feel good about who we are. However, it is important to remember that we are all unique and special individuals. There is no one else quite like us. Exploring our abilities, strengths, weaknesses, dreams, and fears makes it possible to define who we are. Our identity is like a blueprint according to which we are built. And just like a house, the façade can change. The furniture and the decorations can be replaced with fresh, new ones. Or this magnificent construction could be left to dilapidate and rot.


What kind of house is your soul like? (Photo: Pixabay)

Build your self-esteem like the construction of a house

What are your plans for your imaginary house? Will you tend a beautiful garden? Will you construct a swimming pool to show your luxurious life to the world? Will you leave it the elements and give it just basic upkeep? Will you leave it be, weeds and shrubs growing everywhere, preventing you from entering the door of the shaky house with a missing roof and broken windows?

Self-Reliance vs Self-Sufficiency: The Difference Is Crucial to Your Happiness

My imaginary house

My house is located in a nice, peaceful area close to nature. The house isn’t particularly big but not a hut, either. Its wooden walls have seen better. A massive renovation is needed. Repainting would give a fresh new look and hide the mouldy corners, but the mould will still be there, eating the house slowly but surely. The furniture are cosy, and it feels homely, despite the windows that leak cold air in. Remember your wool socks. The clutter is a bit too much for most people’s taste. One could dare call it a complete mess, though, I find my way around easily. I like it as it is, including the mismatching colours and styles. No, my house will not end up in décor magazines, but I am not interested in it, either. I want my house to be built to my taste. I want to be true to myself and eventually become proud of who I am.

I have noticed that I no longer feel the urge to fit in and be what society wants me to be. I’ve built some kind of identity that I don’t want to give up. Maybe I would modify it as l age, but it will be a result of my own life experience.
- Neurodivergent AI

What is the house of your life like?

This article is reposted on my other blogging and social profiles.

https://linktr.ee/neurodivergent_ai

You can find me on

| Medium | Vocal | Simily | read.cash | noise.cash | Publish0x | Steemit |
| Hive | Appics | Instagram | Twitter |

Check out more of my artworks in my community on Ko-Fi.

https://ko-fi.com/neurodivergent_ai

2
$ 0.34
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Unity
Sponsors of valo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for valo
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Engage with other bloggers' posts?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry?

$ 0.00
1 year ago