Wednesday Writing: A Raw Prompt on Writer’s Block

5 29
Avatar for valadhiel
1 year ago

Is writer’s block true or is it just a myth?

What factors can demotivate or unmotivate someone to write?

I have it right now.

Maybe out of fatigue because my brain’s still foggy from lack of proper sleep. Or maybe I’m just merely not in the zone right now to jot down exciting ideas.

In short, I’m out of good mental and physical condition to produce content that I’m going to be pretty satisfied with.

Yet I took it upon myself to post 3-minute reads here in this little online haven daily.

I pledged a commitment to myself to post 5 articles a day here in read.cash.

So, I mean, what the heck, let me write something about my current mood.

So, writer’s block: is it just an excuse or what?

Including the title, I have scribbled around 150 words at the moment.

But all I did was to ramble about my current disposition.

I don’t want to shortchange you, whoever is reading this.

I’ll make it my little mission that after you have read this article, it might entice your brain cells in one way or another.

Because I believe and have truly tried and tested that the only thing to overcome writer’s block is to write more and more.

Granted, there are exceptions to this such as when one is really mentally and physically beat up from their day’s activities.

But just like me who merely had a little bump on the road because of my own fault for not sleeping enough (or just plainly procrastinating because I wanted to come up with an interesting discourse *ehem*), in this case writer’s block is just a myth.

Yes, just write more content, starting with a writing prompt like this.

Being a perfectionist can be one of the flaws of writers.

We want the perfect idea that suits our taste buds to create content that we think can wow our audience at the least (I’m guilty of this pitfall, hehe).

Though this is one of my bad writing habits, sometimes I just choose to just get the job done, merely crossing my fingers to try my luck if the quality is passable, just like what I’m currently doing with this prompt.

Sure, it might take me hours to finish it, but afterwards I am satisfied with myself for taking in a step forward to my goal, even if the progress is pretty little. At least I already finished a draft.

Plus, jotting down writing prompts will awaken the sleeping brain cells inside our little thick skulls to—I just got interrupted—to get them cranking.

It’s like the brain is akin to an unused car, and writing is the driver that turns on the engine, so the car can start running again.

Whatever idea is hidden in the subconscious, writing can flesh it out of that limbo.

Ok, so it’s not the idea that you think would wow the audience, but it is better than nothing (just edit it some other time when ideas start burst inside your head).

So, this is just my method of breaking my writer’s block curse.

Should you have any advice to break yours, feel free to share them in the comments section.

Thanks for reading! Have a nice day.

Sponsors of valadhiel
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @leejhen
Avatar for valadhiel
1 year ago

Comments

Well said friend.... I think am inspired by this and someday I'd write an article similar to this one

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i think you'll do way better than this one 🙂👍 because for one, this has errors; i've forgotten to edit&proofread 😅 and it's all raw.

thanks for visiting 🙂. btw, can i call you D? what nickname d'you prefer?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ooh shoot😂 never thought I'd smile today... I never thought about how inconvenience it would be to other people by using this username.... You can call me Dimples☺,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok, so Dimples it is. So smile so you can be seen, Dimples 😉 .(sorry, can't help with the pun, i'm just friendly teasing you 😅)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ooh I see 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago