Avoid Yourself on Getting Phished Bit.ly technique

6 14
Avatar for tpkidkai
1 year ago

Earlier today, I had a weird text message from an unknown number. The message mentioned that I am selected as a part-time/full-time staff and I can earn at least 9,000.00 pesos daily if I want to continue with the process I need to click the link that is provided.

At first, I didn't even care as I thought that it is 9,000.00 pesos per month but it is daily! Man, it is daily that we are talking about. Imagine working 20 business days which is the standard working days per month which is 9,000.00 x 20 = 180,000.00 pesos per month!

Image source

Wow! It is an astronomical amount especially nowadays. If it will be converted into $ that is around $3,600.00 each month and that will be enough for me to buy a 50 sqm. lot in San Pablo as per square meter is $60.00. I still have some spare to buy some cement on the side.

Now, what am I trying to say here?

Though it is an amazing opportunity this message is a scam and let me give you some tips on how you can avoid getting scammed or being a victim of phishing.

If you are not expecting a message from someone most probably it is a scam.


I do not remember applying for a job or a part-time job elsewhere. So receiving one message from an unknown number is kinda fishy. But mind you I am also getting some text messages from other companies informing me of possible jobs and even phone calls as my friends give my phone number as a character reference when they applied. But those are very minimal only, and I will receive a heads up from them that my number might be contacted to such.


This is also the reason why my work-related number is different from my personal/business number. In that way, I will know which is which.


For this round, I did not complete any form or information online thus I am sure that it is a scam.

Avoid yourself from being trigger-happy.

When you see a hyperlink what do you usually do?

The majority of us will say check first if it is a valid link and then after checking then click it.

Some will say just click it as there's no harm in clicking it.

Whether we admit it or not, a huge number of us had experienced clicking an unknown link right away and scammers know that.

Especially if you are using a mobile device.

Have you experienced accidentally clicking a link even though you don't want to because your phone freezes?


Always check the link given via google.

Now since I cannot stop you from being inquisitive and you want to continue doing it though I had warned you the last step that I can suggest is to verify the link first.

Now how to do that?

If it is a bit.ly site you will need to add a "+" button at the end of the URL for example

The website that was given to you is bit. ly/36Q4lT1 now you are not sure what the heck that website is so at the end of the strings you can add the "+" sign and the link should be like this and the screen should be the one below. bit. ly/36Q4lT1+

Btw, the link that I gave is a safe link that will help you be routed to my anchor account. If you are interested to listen to my podcast you can listen to that. I just use it as a reference to this example.

After doing the search and you determined that it is okay and you are familiar with the site. By all means, go and click it at your own risk.

But if in case that you saw the message written in a language that you do not know. Please stay away from the site and do not click it at all.

Ending Message:

Phishing is rampant nowadays, always be vigilant and do not click links that are given to you by anyone. Even if it is your friend or someone you know of if you think it is unusual keep your gut feel and avoid it at all costs.

4
$ 1.34
$ 1.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @DennMarc
Avatar for tpkidkai
1 year ago

Comments

This is very useful information and also a guide to know if you are about to be scammed. Avoiding such will save us from regret.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, princess for dropping by! I was itching to create that post as I know there's a ton of folks still being victimized by such modus.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang laki non kung nagkataon. Madalas din ako makatanggap ng ganyan pero deadma ko lang since di man ako nag apply or sumali ng raffle.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

hahah nako totoo po yan. Sobrang laking tulong kung totoo man. Dami nading naloko ng ganyan especially yung mga hindi masaydo aware sa ganitong kalakaran mabuti nalang tayo medyo exposed nasa mga ganito rin. Iwas scamm.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, we cannot avoid to receive this kind of messages since we sometimes register or give our number in fill-up form. To be safe, don't open link that you are not sure of.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True to that man! That is why I am not using my personal number with such forms. Kakatakot magamit yung numbers elsewhere.

$ 0.00
1 year ago