Old Medina of Rabat in Morocco

29 307
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago


Rabat is the capital city of Morocco. Many people including me, though it's Casablanca because of how famous that place is.

Rabat is not a popular tourist destination. Most holidaymakers flock to Marrakech, Fez or Casablanca instead.

The busiest international airport in Morocco is the one in Casablanca but there's also the Rabat-Sale Airport where most of the flights from Europe and us, directly from Manchester flying to. I like them because they're fast and very straightforward in dealing with immigration and stamps. You're not on queue for long hours, unlike any other airport that we've been through.

"Medina" is the old part of Rabat and as you can see it's walled. Inside you'll see marketplace which they called souk, mosque and government buildings.

This wall protected the city during the war centuries ago.

Watch this:


This Medina is not made for tourists but an authentic local place where you can shop and eat along with the crowd. In the Philippines, I can say it's like going to Quiapo or Divisoria.

This Medina in Rabat is relatively smaller than the Medina of Fes and Marrakech but as they say, this is more "chill".

They can only speak Arabic or French and there are no signs in English so it was hard for us first-timers to roam around without getting lost. And communicating with locals was a challenge. Morocco was colonized by France and that's the reason why they speak French.

Here are some government establishments but I can't tell you exactly what is it for it's in Arabic.

Inside the Medina is the souk, filled with a crowd of locals and some tourists and all different interesting shops, street foods, spices (I love spices!) clothing and footwear and many more. The locals must have sweet tooth, I have seen cakes, different kind of cakes everywhere. And they all look delicious. I tried some and it's mouth-watering!

TIP:

You should negotiate the price in the Souk for most of the time they will tell you 5x of the price. Harness your haggling skill!

Watch this short video for you to see their marketplace:

Did you see the crowd? And I can't imagine this place during this Pandemic. It's not easy to have social distancing in their narrow streets. I saw the sugar cane(fresh juice) and it brought me back to my childhood. I love to chew this to extract its juice. I got big teeth so it was easy for me lol.



Here are some more pictures.


There's time to walk and time to eat. After some time looking around for a grab, we find this shop that offers food we might like to try.

And see, I'm starving I forgot to take a picture before having a bite on my fish lol. The food is okay for I love seafood! There were lots of restaurants to choose from. But if we eat what we usually eat, we will not taste what Morrocan food like.

And while we're eating, Tia is walking around just in front of us when some locals especially men come close to Tia and don't know what they're saying maybe she's cute or something then they kiss her. Like most of the passersby does. And I don't understand what's that all about. But I know they mean no harm and just finding Tia adorable and can't resist it. And their nice and friendly. But still, you wouldn't want your child to get kissed by strangers.

We came out of the medina and here's what it looks outside. The crowd, the wall, the proud palm trees, and the street altogether, makes the place lively. It wasn't a boring City like I've thought.

The place isn't perfect. It's noisy, crowded, not very clean but this is an authentic local place!

Watch this:


And after that, walking down the street we are heading to the beach. The sunsets give that mesmerising effect.


Do they think I'm crazy? lol.

If you like what you see, give it a go! Write it down on your bucket list. If you've been to Casablanca or other Tourist destination in Morocco why not try Rabat? After all, it's Morocco's capital city!

Thank you so much! ❀❀❀

Check out my other Travel Articles

Tyn-Y-Mur Caravan and Camping Site in Abersoch, Wales

Abersoch, Wales and the Mishap

La Paz Sand Dunes Adventure in Laoag

My Unforgettable Trip in Morocco

Baluarte Zoo and Safari Gallery in Vigan

Go back in time in Vigan

Why I love Pattaya, Thailand

Jeep Safari Adventure in Turkey- Part 2

Jeep Safari Adventure in Fethiye(Water Fighting and more) -Part 1

My First Scuba Diving Experience in Fethiye

Staying at the Garcia Resort and Spa in Oludeniz, Turkey

12 Island Boat Trip in Fethiye

Airport Transfer Service in Turkey that You Can Book Online

The Best Turkish Bath Experience in Hisaronu

How to Apply for Turkey E-Visa Online

Tips on Flying During the Pandemic

Remember to SUBSCRIBE if you liked my content! Hit LIKE and COMMENT for more! ❀️❀️❀️

And to my lovely sponsors thank you so much!

P.S.

I created a travel community named "Travel Around the World" if you have any travel post please feel free to use this community so we can all share our travel experiences. Thank you!


15
$ 3.67
$ 3.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

Why is it that Morocco doesn't accept english? But accepts french? It's kind of weird to accept as a secondary language. Were they a french colony?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, indeed they were colonized that's why French they speak French. Just not easy to roam around if you can't speak Arabic and French.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh no wonder. That kissing culture is also a habit of the french so it's weird that arabs do a lot of kissing wjen they're a rather conservative culture

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great article i like this picture

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i love your articles about travelling, i will stay tuned to you! keep sharing about tourist spot so we can have an idea where to go. Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

love your posts...keep it up. the only disappointment was not seeing the cakes. =(

rusty came by too...good work!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't tell me as I'm disappointed as well. I keep looking for the photo of the cake but there was none. πŸ˜‚ I must just eat and forget everything.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice photos, good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I appreciate that!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In all my life, I have a dream to travel Marina😘😘😘😘😘😘.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

beautiful city

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear. A bit unusual for some and we have our own definition of beauty. I'm glad you find Rabat beautiful as well! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just like you and I, I thought that Casablanca was the capital thanks to the film, otherwise a beautiful city with a lot of good restaurants (I am a gourmet, so I pay special attention to local cuisine)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, I love food lol. See? I wasn't alone! I thought it's Casablanca but wondering why they didn't work it up Rabat as a tourist place as well known as Marrakech Fes or Tangier.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Got me nostalgic! Worked in Jeddah, KSA for 5 years, Morocco is pretty much the same. Balad is the market place equivalent to Quiapo or Divisoria in Jeddah... and I can remember that yellow rice with chicken too, i think they call it Biryani... Thanks for the tour!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really! That's awesome! I ask n additional rice for me, a small cup of rice won't fill my tummy. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

here's looking at you, kid ! cheers !

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, thank you Ragz and cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for introducing us on these trips with cultures and places that are not so close to us and we can't see them ... Your posts are great, I'm really happy to read them! By the way, you have a great nickname on Read cash:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you love. I think I'm living it, always tired but happy mommy 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are so lucky to travel this amazing place. This is one of the excellent travelogue.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Coming from you, wow! Thank you dear, I appreciate that. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remember the sugar cane it was the reason why all my teeth was broken πŸ˜†πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha.. But we all chewed it I guess! πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha yeah even the hardest part in the middle I chewed it that is why my teeth broke πŸ˜†πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have you experienced getting the sugar cane yourself? Because we have the long knife (itak or bolo) haha I used that when I was young! I think I cut myself trying. Did your teeth grow back? That will be sore!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, we have that thing used to cut for sugar cane my parents are a farmer we live nearby the sugar cane farms. I mean the reason why my teeth have cavities because of eating so much sweet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry, I'm slow! πŸ˜… Wow! That's good to know. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha it's okay πŸ˜† yeah I remember the sugar cane on your blog.

$ 0.00
3 years ago