How Others Treat Me is Their Path and How I React is Mine

41 91
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Are you that type of person that always care what other people think? Have you ever advise anyone that they should stop caring what others people think? Or have you ever told yourself not to get hurt about what other people think?

It's funny because if we really care what other people think, telling ourselves that we shouldn't care what other people think isn't really going to stop us from caring! And if we know somebody who really cares what other people think telling them not to care so much isn't actually stopping them from caring what other people think!

Thick skin vs Thin skin

Some of us have thick skin. Those who are unaffected by rejection or disapproval or if we are just more capable of suppressing that feeling.

Or some who have thin skin. Those who are affected by others words and action and take it to the heart as if we were stabbed.

And sometimes no matter how much we try to tell ourselves not to get affected by others we were still badly affected.

The truth is.

We really can't simply stop taking things so personally.

It's not a conscious choice that whenever people tell us to stop letting other people words hurts us we were able to just consciously choose in a snap whatever other people's words and actions don't hurt me. As if we have a button in our head that says "I don't give a f***!" Click, boom, "I don't care!" But there's none.

Now, how do we deal with it?

The first thing we have to do is to ask ourselves these questions,

WHY DO I TAKE THINGS PERSONALLY?

And,

SHOULD I STOP CARING WHAT OTHER PEOPLE THINK?

You have to answer it yourself.

But think about this.

If you stop caring what other people think, say or do, that is distancing behaviour which is what disapprovals are.

What you are doing is depriving yourself of the opportunity to see things from another perspective by not caring what other people think. We are separating ourselves from each other. We deprive ourselves of the opportunity to see ourselves in a different light. We will not develop self-awareness if we stop caring what other people think.

The thing is we should care what every person thinks. We should not be defiant to what other people think because that is just defence.

But remember as Teal Swan says:

There's a difference between caring what other people think and letting our entire self-concept believe what other people think!

I used to be with thin skin. I don't accept criticism and take everything to the heart. I don't want to get rejected. I don't wanna hear negative words or comments. Their words hurt me so badly and even if I tell myself "I don't care what they say!" the truth is I care.

But as you seek for your better self and aim for the best version of you, things started to change. You started to understand that if you see things and take them positively, you won't need to run from them and you will never get offended by them again. You deal with what other people say with an open mind. Some people are not born with zip on their mouth. And words are powerful enough to hurt one's spirit. But you are the one who has the last say. Your words to yourself are more powerful than the opinion of others.

And for all of us, may we all be aware of the words coming out of our mouth. We are not perfect and there are just things we cannot control especially our mouth and I too, am guilty of that. But we still try to be a better person who knows how to guard well thy tongue for the right reason. And to speak our mind knowing that our words are powerful to lift others or like a knife and break someone else's spirit.

Thank you for reading.

Lead Image Credits to: shutterstock.com

26
$ 15.18
$ 14.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Omar
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
+ 11
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Comments

Till date I still get hurts from people's actions and word. Maybe it's because I Love too deeply...I'm working on myself already, trying to change and not be thin skinned

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i have select people i accept criticism from but most of the people i know are pretty blunt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks a lots its really help me lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we can't simply ignore what others say or think about us, pero naiisip ko rin if I constantly think about them lalo na mga nega, I would end up hurting myself. My life is not for lip service, I will live pleasing my God, not men.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything we hear is an opinion and not a fact.Everything we see is perspective,not the truth. No metter how you behave,what you believe in life,what decisions you make and what you do - people will always observe you,judge you,discuss about you,slander you,and you can not escape it.How strongly any of their statements or thoughts come to you alive,however,depends only of you. I do not have thin skin dear.Life teached me how to deal with people.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Haha, you're like my Mum. She is very nice but knows how to deal with people accordingly. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me, by the end of the day, I really think hard about the thoughts and words that others say about me. I'm like having a serious discussion with my inner self whether or not some of those thoughts or words are true or not. No bias, no remorse, no self-love. It's like I'm a different person analyzing those thoughts. Like I'm standing in front of me judging my character.

Why did they think that about me? Am I really like that? Do I really have to change my approach? And If I really think what I did to them was really bad, not cool, or really not acceptable that could possibly hurt them then that is the time where my ideals and beliefs should evolve. I'll accept those criticism. Not everyone will like you and at the same time you can't please everyone around you because we are not perfect beings.

$ 0.15
2 years ago

What a lovely comment from you BaldPotato. Thank you for sharing your own experience and how do you deal with others opinion. And yes we can't please everybody and we are not perfect. ❤

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Your article is really great. I would love to give you a tip right now but I've just started using this platform and I'm currently reading some articles to review what others are currently posting in this site. Maybe once I've earn some. Thank you for sharing your thoughts author! Have a good day always

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Hello and welcome to read.cash. I would to visit your profile and see your future post. Thank you for your nice words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to be with thin skin. I don't accept criticism and take everything to the heart. I don't want to get rejected. I don't wanna hear negative words or comments. Their words hurt me so badly and even if I tell myself "I don't care what they say!" the truth is I care.

I totally feel this one. Especially when I was younger. Fortunately, I'm able to stop minding others' criticism but still not all the time. But what hurts me so much is being judged and cricitize by my own relatives 😅😓

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I feel you as they should be the one to know us better but sometimes there's family/relative who let us down more than anyone else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And that is one of the most painful things that hard to ignore.😅 but life still goes on so sometimes even it is hurt I still do my best to not mind their opinions too much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In past i always think what peoples think about me and etc but now I don't even care what they are thinking for me but it's me who think positive even the person is thinking negative I'll show love this is the path i choose for myself

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes my dear, that's how you don't! Love that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"The thing is we should care what every person thinks. We should not be defiant to what other people think because that is just defence." Yes. I agree. We shouldn't carr about others. People will judge badly even if i do really a good work! People likes to pinch. And ya we are learners, we should keep trying to be a better person, we shoulf be careful about what we are talking. What other people treats me isn't important for me. How i treat others that is important. Because of my behaviour, others can correct themselves.

$ 0.15
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and yes you're right how you treat others matters most. No matter what we do, people will always have their say anyway. Cheers love

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yup! Cheers love. 😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had thin skin before but now I'm learning to not get affected by what other people think especially if it's something that is not true. I know for myself that I'm better than their labels to me.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes madam, when you know your self-worth, other words don't matter. Some people are full of negativity, we shouldn't let them pass it on to us. Let's keep our positive self intact.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From thin to thick skin, I think it's called maturity. To accept critism, rejection and see things positively. But caring too much about what others think is bad din minsan, ksi lagi mong iniisip qng ano iisipin at sasabihin ng ibang tao which will hinder growth at mastagnant din instead of taking risks

$ 0.10
2 years ago

That's why everything too much is no good. Listen to the words that matter and for others let your eyes see, let your ears hear and that's it. Don't let it get into you. Thank you for sharing bhe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I grown up having thin skin in which I easily react negatively in times of rejection but that experience have thought be to responce accordingly. Now I am having a thick skin. 😁 Kalyo na nga e. 😅

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Hahaha, my Mum told me to be nice to people but never let them make a fool out of me. Response accordingly but choose it wisely. 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is a very good advice from a mom sis. Not at all time we let ourselves being down. If we need to fight back, we should but in an appropriate manner. ❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm tough outside, but fragile inside. I always told myself not to care and bother about what others opinion and judgement, pero pag mag isa na ako hindi ko maiwasang hindi maapektuhan, and that leads me on not going outside. Distancing from toxic people.

Btw, if you have time, you can read my experience about it. https://read.cash/@JulyAnn/the-state-of-being-unemployed-9d88bd98 Looking forward to hear words from you.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Same here before. But you have to help yourself to deal with that issue. Check the bottom of it. ❤

Thank you for sharing your article and I will make sure to read that. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the comparison you make at the first part of your article thick skin vs thin skin . but at end it is up to us. You illustrate the idea god bless you tired momma.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you, dear. Everyone has freedom of speech but we choose which one to listen to and the rest just hear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It depends on the subject - there have to be some things which don't hurt others and in regards - there should be a so-what attitude - do what makes you happy. Then if your choice is going to involve others, then you do need to listen and manage expectations :D

$ 0.15
2 years ago

Those are beautiful words from you. I should remember that. Thank you for sharing your thoughts it indeed depends on the subject. I think I have the so what attitude in some days. Have a good day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used not to care about other opinions about me like, who cares? I have guarded myself too much with thick walls, but my husband to be help me to overcome it..because its not normal. Now, I care but not too much it's like I know how to balance my emotions towards other people's critics and opinions, have some self-reflection then just shrug off afterward.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Tama yan bhe. Kakatuwa naman si hubby. Basta bhe know when to listen and know when to ignore. Hear it but that's it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dun ako sa last photo nakafocus 🤣 Anywaym madam, minsan hndi ko tlga maiwasan hndi isipin ang sasabihin ng iba.. Hndi ko yan maalis sa aking isipan. nakakastress kya..pro dinadivert ko naman kpg sobra na

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Hahaha, feel an feel ko yang inarte ko Jan madam! 🤣

Madam sabi ni nanay "Be nice to people but don't let them make a fool out of you!" May time not to give a shi* and my time to "let me handle it"!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes i strongly agree to you maam. I am too the fragile girl before and it leads me to nothing. At the end of the day, it was still me who matters most if i cry and hid my tears or just face them with a smile like i never knew or heard their thoughts. Now i am the almost 360 degrees opposite of my old self and i am a bit thankful i found this new self of mine.

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Wow, It's just feel good to read such. And I'm happy for you. People change, we all change. We learn our life lessons and how nice it is to change for the better. Like you I leave my own self and found a better version of myself. Not perfect but so much better than the old one. Cheers love!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much maam for the upvote. Yes we all change and the good thing is we change for the better. God bless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have the same thought ng article mo momma.https://read.cash/@Glez/9010-principle-2fe37f13

happy thoughts lang!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

So true Glez, some battles are not worth fighting for. But sometimes it still hurts to hear such diba? So it's really up to us at the end of the day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes momma. Dapat lang e focus natin yung, may mahihita ba tayo if papatolan natin?

$ 0.00
2 years ago