Lessons learnt from Therapy...

14 77
Avatar for the_northstar
2 years ago

Hola! Therapy session coming up! πŸ₯πŸ₯πŸ₯πŸ₯πŸŽ·πŸŽ·πŸŽ·πŸ•ΊπŸ½πŸ’ƒπŸ½ Sorry I can be a bit dramatic sometimes but hey, I'm just really excitedddd and I'm typing this on the spot so, I can't wait to see how it turns out.

So.. today, I'd be sharing with you lessons some people learnt from Therapy. You probably saw the title and thought it was about me yeah? Well, I actually wish but I have never been to therapy. So here's how it'll go.. I have couple of tweets which I'd be sharing today. They're about one or two lessons people have gotten from Therapy. So I'd post a tweet and below it, I'd air my thoughts on it. Enjoy.

This should be fun right? Okay,let's goooo!!

I love the last statement. "To anyone struggling, you're valid." You really are. You're important. You're seen. Please don't neglect your issues or hesitate to talk about them just cause you feel other people have it worse. No matter how small you might think it is, it's not so small if it bothers you over and over again, gives you sleepless nights, migraines, anger issues, the need to dissociate and so much more.. take care of yourself. 🀍

There are people who feel the need to make others go through one thing or the other that they went through in the past. Could be physical abuse, emotional abuse, kidnap, rape, slavery,.. etc. They want you to feel the exact pain they felt cause they don't like the fact that there are people out there that didn't or haven't gone through what they went through. It's that mentality of "If I can't have it, neither can you." "If I can't have a trauma-free life, why should you have one?" You know, sometimes these people can be our parents. Let's face it. And if we then pass it on to our children and our children passes it on to theirs, what then have we achieved? Please, be the one to break the cycle. Instead of making people feel as bad as you did, fight against it. When you come across someone going through something you can relate to, be their comfort zone. Let them find peace and comfort in your arms.

Spending time with people is nice but give yourself some "me-time" sometimes. Spend time with yourself. Spend time meditating, soliloquizing, listening to music, reading. There are so many things you could do with yourself. Your company should be something you enjoy.

The world doesn't revolve around you. Quit assuming that people's every act or reactions has to do with you. We all have our separate lives and everyone has one thing or the other going on. So just focus on you instead of trying to make everything about you.

Hey you, yes you.. why are you reducing your standards just cause someone else isn't comfortable with it? Do they have to be comfortable with it? If you've set certain boundaries due to reasons best know to you, please stick to them. Don't cut them down just cause you're trying to make someone else happy. Those boundaries and standards are clearly important to you and that's why you set them in the first place so.. why let them go? I mean, if that person or those people love and care for you, they'd respect your decision. Don't you think? Resist the urge to displease yourself in order to please others.

It's okay and normal to be sad after making the right decision. Just cause you're hurting after making a decision doesn't mean it's still not the right one. Cry. Hurt. Grieve. Feel every bit of the emotion that comes after making sad decisions but at the end of the day, stick to that decision. You know fully well why you made it in the first place. "Grieving doesn't have to mean you want it back." Actually, sometimes when you make the decision to leave someone.. you might start wanting the bond back right after cause you've gotten so used to that person and it feels like a part of you is gone but know that, you might not "need" it back. Want. Need. Two different terms. You might want something but that doesn't necessarily mean that you need it. Focus on what you need. You left that toxic friendship or relationship cause you needed Peace of mind, stability, happiness and you needed to find yourself. Focus on that. It's okay to miss and want them but do you need them?

Damn. I fell in love with this Emotion & Feeling Wheel the moment I set my eyes on it. So much clarity! It's so beautiful and detailed. Hats off to whosoever took their time to put it together. It's really overwhelming when you don't know what you're really feeling. There are times when I'd be in a weird mood and a friend would notice and be like "What's up?" And I'm like "I don't really know. I'm just not myself. Something's wrong but I don't know what it is." And the moment I figure out what I'm feeling and why I'm feeling that way, things just get easier. It's like.. you're in a very dark room and you're trying so hard to find the switch and you finally do and then, you flip it. Here's a tip: Whenever you feeling something and you don't know what you're feeling, take time to think about recent happenings in your life. The good, the bad. And if you figure out that there's something that happened which you've not tackled, then that's probably the cause of your mood swing. Or, it could be something else. Who knows?

Why deny others the chance to feel good too?πŸ«‚ You also need to be taken care of. You also need to be showered with love. Lean on someone. Let someone help you. You cannot do it all by yourself. Just, be careful of who you tell your struggles to though.

Okay, one last one..

People go about saying "Blood is thicker than water." meaning familial bonds are and should be stronger than non-familial. But here's the full quote.. "The Blood Of The Covenant Is Thicker Than The Water Of The Womb." which means that the family that you choose is stronger than the one you're born to. Most people feel more at home with friends they've made than with the family members they're born to. It's not a crime, really. You can't be in good terms with all your family members, immediate and extended. You don't even feel connected to some of your relatives so yes, sharing genetics with someone doesn't make them family and it doesn't mean you must keep them in your life. It's the fact, deal with it. πŸ˜‰

So yeah, that's all for today. What would have been my gain if I had kept all this to myself? Lol. Thank you for reading and I hope you've learnt a thing or two. I definitely have. And yeah, if there's anyone who wants to share one thing they've learnt from Therapy, please do so in the comment section so that we can all benefit from it. Gracias mis amores.

I'd like to use this medium to say thank you to my new sponsor. 🀍 All I did was comment on her recent article and she decided to sponsor me. I appreciate you @LeticiaFelize Thank you, so much. 🀍

Sponsors of the_northstar
empty
empty
empty

Β©the_northstar

10
$ 3.43
$ 3.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Kristofferquincy
$ 0.02 from @Theblackdoll
+ 1
Avatar for the_northstar
2 years ago

Comments

Therapy is something I've always wanted to do, I've heard about all the benefits and I definitely want to take part in it someday when I can afford it. Thanks for this, I've heard of that emotion wheel and how helpful it is, I can relate to not being able to identity emotions all the time, our mental health is a topic that's dear to me because of my own experiences, it is so important and shouldn't be neglected. Thanks for writing about this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have the desire to visit a therapist. Yeah, it really is so helpful.. just makes everything so clear

You're welcome and thank youuu! 🀍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's funny how I can relate with everything. Thank you so much for this. You are a star and you shine bright on the people around you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome sugar. 🀍 Thank you ✨🀭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is your best article yet🌟🌟 I just keeps getting better and better I felt all the emotions and passion you used in writing this article It really got to me I'll love to see more like this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ₯ΊπŸ₯Ί my babyyy, thank you!!! πŸ₯ΊπŸ₯ΊπŸ₯ΊπŸ€ Won't let you down. 😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The at about identifying your emotions is really true, the stress gets easier when you know what you're actually facing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you can relate. πŸ«‚ Do more of identifying your emotions instead of feeling confused. 🀍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"You're never spending time by yourself, you're spending time with yourself".... I like that part. I've always lived my life based on these words especially since my childhood. I've always appreciated my own company.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's beautiful, keep it upπŸ€­πŸ«‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said very nicely, my dear friend. We must first think of our own feelings, our peace, and our happiness, then others. Sometimes when we feel that our state of mind is disturbed, we have to be alone with ourselves, and think about what is going on in us, and come to a conclusion with ourselves in order to get out of this state.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Elleennnn🀭 I'm glad you can relate. We do need to start putting ourselves first. 🀍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been through so many of the above said and learned these by myself alone... I wish there was somebody who told me the right things at right age.. grea tpost

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry there was nobody to tell you these. Hopefully, you'll be able to help other people. 🀍 Thank you! 🀍

$ 0.00
2 years ago