GoodDollar introduces marketplace for buying goods and services with G$

Avatar for technicallyproduct
3 years ago

I'm one of nearly 38,000 people who have started claiming GoodDollar, a "free basic income with real monetary value" which launched in early September. Just by being consistent with my daily claims I've now amassed G$329, putting me - if I'm reading the GoodDollar dashboard correctly - in the top 10% or so of holders. It's possibly the only time I've been an early adopter with anything related to crypto, so I want to see the project succeed.

The good news here is that the GoodDollar team are very active, and earlier this month launched the GoodDollar Marketplace on Facebook. To get to the marketplace, click on the 'GoodMarket' button at the bottom of the desktop wallet:

In the marketplace, members of the GoodDollar community can buy and sell digital goods and services for G$. On the sell side, users are offering training, artwork, ebooks and more. On the buy side, users are looking for social media, marketing and web design services.

Despite my own mixed feelings about Facebook, I can completely understand why the GoodDollar team chose to use it for the marketplace. For a universal basic income (UBI) to work, it needs mass adoption and low barriers to entry - and as the GoodDollar roadmap explains:

"We want to meet the users where they are. Rather than re-inventing the wheel and crafting our own marketplace, we want users to find deals and offers in G$ where they already congregate."

Price determined by usage

The Facebook marketplace is fascinating because G$ cannot be traded on any exchange and so does not have an official or agreed price. The 'Token Model' section on the official GoodDollar FAQ page explains:

"The price of GoodDollar is variable and determined by usage. This means, the price of 1 G$ is determined by how much someone is willing to buy or sell it for. GoodDollar is not a stablecoin."

So one way (in fact the best way) to answer the question 'what is G$ worth?' is by looking at the marketplace and seeing the current going price for various goods and services. I am surprised, actually, by the high value that group members are placing in G$. One user is offering to teach Spanish for 10G$ an hour; another is offering logo design for 5GD$; a third will design a website for 100G$.

Dollar parity?

These prices suggest something approaching parity between USD and G$ - amazing when you consider that it is possible on some days to claim upwards of 15G$ with just the click of a button.

If this article has sparked your interest at all, I'd wholeheartedly recommend that you sign up for a GoodDollar wallet. The time investment required to make your daily claim is absolutely minimal, and the project certainly has momentum. Plus, within a few days, you'll even have enough G$ to buy something from the marketplace!

Still not convinced? Here's a short video about GoodDollar:

Sponsors of technicallyproduct
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 0.06
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Swca.ch
$ 0.01 from @renangeo
+ 2
Sponsors of technicallyproduct
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for technicallyproduct
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Very well written. Your article actually received quite a few views considering it was your first on this platform. (The view numbers cannot be compared with P0x as a good fraction might only click your article to get to the free tip in my experience.)

And the upvotes are good, too. (I'm one of them now.) You even received tips by users which is very rare for a first article. I would say it was probably the bot's week off when you posted this. Don't let that discourage you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sounds as a good project. I see there is an option to sign up with Google and mobile phone number. I could never start with facebook as they always ask for picture verification and I gave up with it. But lete see I may register with Google to see what it is

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck to you! I have a Facebook account but I try not to register for anything with it. I just use email, or my Google account if I have to.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm geocrypto from publish

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The first time I've heard about it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome to the platform. Interesting article, I didn't know anything about it until now. I will continue to follow your posts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Quick visit for a tip

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's very kind of you, much appreciated!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will look in the fb group what the members have to offer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great! Let me know if you find anything interesting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lots of informative articles Dear friends I didn't know much I learned a lot from your article Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hey, i found you! Lol...my old username was The Kragle on P0x...

this is a really interesting project that you featured in your article. just subscribed! =)

welcome to RC!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello - good to see you! I am just trying out Read.cash. First impressions are positive, I like the editor. Thanks for subscribing - I've returned the favour.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you're lucky you weren't here for the old points rewards system of earning...mind you the new bot tipping system isn't perfect, but there's a lot less junk here now. thanks for returning the favour...looking forward to more of your content here!

$ 0.00
3 years ago