Droning With The Kids

0 27
Avatar for stevenvanelk
2 years ago
Topics: Photography, Drone, Dji, Mavic, Fall, ...

The other day as the light was slowly fading I realized it’d been a while since the last time I had flown the drone. I really wanted to get up in the air to capture the fall colors as the leaves change color on the trees in Indiana. So I packed my stuff up and was about to leave the house when I remembered my son saying he loved flying the drone with me, so I asked him and my daughter to come with me. We made the short trip to Strawtown Koteewi Park and after struggling with the DJI app for several minutes finally got the drone up in the air.

I flew the drone around to get the lay of the land and then handled the controller off to my son. He had a blast exploring the park from above. We have hiked here so many times but seeing the park from above was a bit disorienting for him. So I had to help him fly the drone back at one point. Then I let my daughter fly the drone and land it, which blew her mind. She’s only 5 and when I say I let her fly the drone I mean I let her press the return to home button and watch the screen. It was a really good day and a lot of fun making some photos with the kids.

Thanks for reading. I am a full time wedding photographer with Van Elk & Co who also makes a comedy podcast about running a wedding photography business called the Wedding Photo Hangover.

1
$ 0.17
$ 0.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for stevenvanelk
2 years ago
Topics: Photography, Drone, Dji, Mavic, Fall, ...

Comments