The Movie That is So Much Ahead of It's Time

2 26
Avatar for stellaluna
2 years ago
Topics: Movie, Film, Horror, Story, Experience, ...

I think almost everyone living in this world is such a movie person. And we all have different genres, whether we prefer a family drama over an action-packed film, a romantic-comedy story over a sci-fi film, or a horror-thriller movie over an adventurous plot. What matters is how a movie tends to tell a story and how to entertain its audience. Well, there are movies that are not really good, like how the actors portray a character how the cinematography seems to have a low budget, or just the editing itself. Also, there are times when the audience thinks that a certain movie is just made to make money and does not really care about the true meaning of storytelling.

I'm more of a horror movie person. I would rather watch a horror film that I've watched before than some other romantic film. I know that it's kind of boring, compared to how girls are depicted when it comes to playlists of their films that they watch on Sunday night. I barely know people who actually watch a horror film and enjoy them. Well, I always hear how they were so scared when they watched some, which is actually the point of the genre, but I rarely hear people talk in happiness when telling their experience about a horror film. So it's quite interesting when I meet people like that.

With all the reviews I have seen about movies that people think that is ahead of their time, I always see "Jennifer's Body", which stars Megan Fox. The movie is about a high school girl who became immortal after being sacrificed by a band for them to gain popularity and then she started to kill humans, boys or men at first, but as she said in the film, "I go both ways.". Amanda Seyfried also stars in the film as her best friend who is the one who knew everything and was able to get rid of the necklace that makes Jennifer immortal so she can kill her after Jennifer killed her boyfriend. In my opinion, I kind of see how the people view the movie, not just because it stars Fox, who is one of the popular actresses at that time when the movie came out, but how the story is told and how the characters were not what the people are ready for, but also what the people want. If you actually go to YouTube and search for the film's specific scene like "Jennifer's Body scene", the first thing that will pop up is the scene where Seyfried and Fox's "We all share your bed" scene which has over 400 million views. I think the people are missing this type of film. Actually, if you will go to the overall picture of the movie right now, no one is ready for Megan Fox to star as a bisexual vampire because no one has ever done that. Other vampire films and series are either the teenager-go-to aura like Twilight or a history type of film or an action film in which the vampire main characters were dominated by men. No one actually made a vampire movie that stars a sexy woman. Well, maybe there is a movie but has not that much popularity compared to how Jennifer's Body is still being talked about today.

In my perspective, Jeepers Creepers 2 was the one that is so ahead of its time. I didn't watch the movie before because I had this thought that every movie that was made before 2000 was kind of an old-school film and most of the films I watched were not really that scary. Well, A Child's Play was good and it was entertaining and I think scary for kids if they will watch it so this will probably make the top. However, when I watched the second Jeepers Creepers, it was a whole completely different level. I got fascinated by the film because I saw a scene from a social media platform.

The movie's opening scene is on a farm where the son was taken by the Creeper and you can see the son's dad and brother going after it but they were too late. It then follows a school bus that carries a bunch of high school kids who seems to have gone in a match where they won. One of the bus's wheels was sliced up by the Creepers sort of "knife" but has four blades. The students don't know about this one so they were not that creeped out by it, but what happened made it difficult for the bus to move furthermore so they got stuck on the road. The lady driver was the one who got caught first by the creeper so the students all freaked out. One of the girls in the bus had the sight of what the creeper is and was able to talk to one of the victims before she passed out. When they confronted the creeper again, it pointed out its victims by smiling at them. They were attacked on the bus and some died already because of it so they decided to get out and look for help, even though one of them already called out for help. But after they went out, the creeper is back and since the one who is left behind didn't want to open the door, they all ran to the fields. Some died once again and those three who were able to make through went to a broken-down car to run again since the creeper is chasing them. In the end, the father was able to shoot the creeper by the head and killed it. Well, not really kill it but it was not able to move which is a good thing at that time.

If you will watch the movie, even though as a horror movie fan, some scenes are predictable, it was amazing to watch. The cinematography was not what I expected and they were able to deliver those scary moments most of the time. The actors really did a good job in convincing the audience that they are really scared, not that good of acting that is Academy-worthy but enough to entertain and fulfill a good role. The creeper's "costume" was a big hit for me. I didn't think that the costume was that "real" and it was actually a good thing to wear during nighttime. The way the creature fly and scare the students is also a standing ovation. It was not that scary if you were to ask me but I think if you're not a horror movie person then you will get scared by it. I love movies that I think have a lot of jumps scares but tend to scare you in the most simplest or unpredictable manner.

What's your go-to film genre? And what's the best film in that genre?

2
$ 0.04
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for stellaluna
2 years ago
Topics: Movie, Film, Horror, Story, Experience, ...

Comments

I only watched those action movie and sci Fi movies which literally best to watched ..hehe one of the most notorious that I've watched is that fast and furious which the villain was Tony jaa ( Thai action start)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love movies a lot. I love it especially if it has a good story my friend. Ever since I was in highschool I was really fond of movies. We are the same friend, I love horror movies a lot. It's my first option then sometimes war movies too especially if it is based on a true story.

I watched already the "Jennifers Body" movie when I was in highschool friend. For me the movie is good. There are times I felt scared of Jennifer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago