Work hard.

0 6
Avatar for sirmagz32
3 years ago

I still remember those days when my father and I worked hard in a scorching heat of the sun just to plant sweet potatoes or bananas for our family. I grew up in a poor family where my parents cannot provide all our financial needs. My father is farmer, carpenter and a tricycle driver sometimes. I admire him for that because my father is hard working and he has many skills. My mother was a Baranger Treasurer that time who earned below minimum salary.

We were four in the family and I am the 2nd child. During weekends, my brother, father and I usually went to our ricefields and coconut fields to plant rice, corn, fruits and vegetables. We seldom enjoyed playing childhood traditional games at that time. During summer before I went to college I had my summer jobs in our town just for me to have tuition during classes. We are in need financially but we always believe our financial incapacity is not the reason why we cannot reach our dreams.

There were days when my allowances got delayed during college. I tried to had bananas by spending two pesos only as a viand for 3 meals. Or sometimes 1 can of sardines I used to budget it well for my brunch and dinner. I knew its hard but I worked hard for it.

By the grace of God and with the help of our parents my three siblings and I are all professionals. My brother became a Major in Philippine Army and I became a public school licensed teacher. Indeed, poverty is not the reason why we cannot achieve our dreams or ambitions in life.

2
$ 0.11
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of sirmagz32
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sirmagz32
3 years ago

Comments