Take care, self

2 23
Avatar for shewrites.17
2 years ago
Topics: Habits, Self-care

I am certain that we are all aware of or we heard this term “self-care” from somewhere. It became one of the most-searched terms in Google, according to Google Trends. And let us all be honest, some of you had or still have a misconception about this word. To give enlightenment, it is not a synonymous term for selfishness. Self-care, as for my own description, is how we take care of ourselves, cope with stressors from daily life, and include routines or activities not related to the tasks in school and professional jobs. You, do you also feel pressured with the thought of your friend’s success, having a great romantic relationship? Once in a while, we feel that. It is either you suppress it or you dwell from it. Furthermore, self-care makes someone feel better physically, emotionally, spiritually, socially, and intellectually. However, it varies from one person to another.

In this post, I will be mentioning and discussing some of my self-care routines and activities for different aspects of my life. Hope it will help in crafting yours.

Photo Courtesy: withlovemeli on Pinterest

Physically

Dancing

Dancing has been a part of my hobby ever since I was a kid. Essentially, dancing or just feeling the vibe of a song works most parts of my body. And yes, I would recommend this one if you are not a fan of going to the gym. This simply needs music, and just feel it. You don’t need to be a dancer in order to dance. Just keep in mind, as long as your body is moving and you are getting in a better mood, then it is definitely effective.

Exercising

Since I am a self-proclaimed dancer, I tend to do at-home workouts to keep my figure and to perform better. As a dancer, it is important to keep our bodies moving even if we’re not doing a choreography. Exercising doesn’t need to be intense. There are Youtube videos that you can watch and follow. Some of my favorite Youtube channels for physical improvement are Lena Snow and OppaServe. Their exercises are beginner-friendly and do not require much space to work your body. As stated by some health experts, doing an exercise increases your dopamine and also serotonin. These two can improve a person’s mood and will modify the reward system of his brain. If you are starting to do home exercises, I recommend you to try the abs workout. Abs workout does not just give us more defined abs, but also progresses our core. Stretching is a must, do not forget. And personally, I am currently working on my legs since I have a mesomorph body type.

Drinking more water

Frankly, I didn’t drink much water when I was in junior high. Why? It’s so plain. Eventually, I get to develop this as a habit that whenever I feel stressed or anxious, I would drink a glass of water. I know you already know this; it is the cheapest and most effective way of getting healthier skin. So, if you cannot afford to buy a skincare product, or you just don’t like using it then, stay hydrated. Tip: Keep your water bottle or glass in your desk or work area. This tricks your mind to drink every time you see it.

Skin and body care

Literally, it is what you read. I am a workaholic person, I suppose. Principally, when I am really into doing something, I can forget to take care of my own skin. However, I still want to look fresh (presentable, yes) and feel pretty. In my opinion, it boosts our self-confidence when we doll up or put extra care into our skin. In reality, skincare products are luxurious and are a trial and error. Of course, our skin responds to products differently. Thus, you need to assess your skin type, do research on what ingredients are best for you, and invest in purchasing products. Most importantly, it requires you to be consistent in applying those.

Eating foods

It is either vegetables and fruits or my favorite snacks. I choose to have snacks or any of my favorite meals every time I want to reward myself. On the other hand, healthier foods such as greens and fruits when I think my body needs them more. But still, it doesn’t mean that I don’t eat vegetables or fish for my daily meals. You just really have to listen to your body, what it needs and what it feels. For me, this is one of the most important things to do for ourselves. This is more like giving a well-deserved reward.

 

Mentally

Journaling

A must. I would say that this helped me a lot when I was struggling with what I really want to do and pursue. Additionally, I journal to untangle all the mess inside my head. Sounds simple yet it isn’t at first. Discipline, time, and focus. I consider this a sister of meditation since you can do this one if you find it difficult to meditate. I usually include this on my night routine, to unwind.

Meditating

Unlike in journaling, I prefer to meditate in the mornings. Why in the morning? It sets the tone and mood for my whole day. Based on my self-observations, I am more present and mindful of my actions after a session. I started doing this last year and to be honest, I found it weird since you will stay still with your eyes closed. After a week, I kind of get the hang of it. It releases all the bad and negative energy that refrains me from being my best self for that day.

Listening to music

I am a born music lover. So, whenever I am feeling uncertain, I’d play my playlist.  I am definitely sure that most of you also do the same. It already became part of our systems. Usually, I play my favorite songs from my favorite artists and also my childhood faves.

Doing my hobbies

I write poems and songs. Sometimes I watch some Korean dramas, movies, or series. Vlogging or filming is my new hobby, and it’s enjoyable. It stimulates my creative and artistic flow.

Photo Courtesy: Pinterest

Socially

I do not have many activities for my social life. Simply, I call my friends or have a usual conversation for a reason that we don’t message each other often. Sometimes I take a social media break wherein I minimize my screen time and scroll through my news feed. Unfortunately, I cannot do this every time. On my Instagram, I post reminders and life lessons to radiate positive feed to my followers.

 

Intellectually

Reading books

This has been my favorite activity to learn and have diverse perspectives. Lately, I am into reading self-help books such as 12 Rules for Life by Jordan Peterson. It can provide you knowledge and ideas for various areas of your life.

Watching Youtube

Youtube means a lot to me. This is my most visited site ever since. This site gives me access to tutorials, topic discussions, or vlogging ideas. You should consider learning different skills and fill our cups once in a while.

 

Spiritually

I keep my spiritual routine as simple as it should be. I do devotion, rosary, and read Bible. Basically, it gives me the peace and word that I always need.

 

Special note:

Considering the abovementioned routines and activities, does it help you in crafting your own self-care plan? I hope you do. But keep in mind that merely resting and just being kind to yourself is enough. In these trying times, it is better to know yourself more and continue to seek progress at your own pace.

Photo Courtesy: Pinterest
Sponsors of shewrites.17
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @ExpertWritter
Sponsors of shewrites.17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for shewrites.17
2 years ago
Topics: Habits, Self-care

Comments

Self care and self love is important. I also do eat a lot of foods and drink some water because it makes me feel better. 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course. Glad to hear that you are doing those simple activities. Stay well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago