46th Anniversary and Homecoming of the UP Vanguards

0 10
Avatar for sgbonus
4 years ago

A year ago I accompanied my grandpa to the 46th Anniversary and Homecoming of the UP Vanguards. The photo below is my grandpa. He had to say a speech during the 46th Anniversary and Homecoming of the UP Vanguards. I was just an alien to this party because most of the people present there were in this military fraternity . I was the one who had to guide and accompany him because he's completely blind in his left eye and has a pin hole vision on his right eye.

I learned a lot from this party and met some people from the class of my grandpa. He was the oldest person who attended this event. He was at Class 55.


This was the whole program of the event.


It started with the entrance of colors. Those helmets looked so amusing. I thought that they were sharp enough to kill someone. I labeled them as unicorns as soon as I saw the helmets.


At the start of the program they had to roll call everybody who attended it. From the oldest class to the most recent ones. I was just listening and cheering with them as they called their names one by one.


There was also something funny about the hall, there were poles in the middle. They were all joking about girls dancing there later in the night.


After the roll call they had the brotherhood round wherein they all had to shake hands. While waiting I was just taking photos of my grandpa. They call each other "brads".



This was when they were giving the donation of BP apparatuses and Nebulizers for one of the places here


We had to wait for around 2 hours before eating because of the program. This was the dinner that they served. The food there was actually good.


I sat with some of the people who were currently taking the course. You actually notice how disciplined they were especially when they had to do all the commands of the higher ups. And one of the people in our table told them just to relax and enjoy the night. There was also a live band performing and there were times when some of the members would jam with them.


They called the birthday celebrants of January and my grandpa turned 85 during the 11th.


These were all the people who were celebrating their birthdays. My grandpa had to give a speech because he was the oldest birthday celebrant and the youngest celebrant also had to say a speech.


After the program I was just watching and listening to my grandpa while he was talking and drinking. Some guy actually utilized the poles. I was observing the people during this gathering and I noticed that as the generations get younger, there were more women present compared to the older classes. It was really a fun event because I was able to bond with my grandpa and listen the his stories and the stories of his other friends.

Thanks for reading!
"The youth is the hope of our future."
~Jose Rizal

2
$ 0.21
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @Read.Cash
Sponsors of sgbonus
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sgbonus
4 years ago

Comments