The Widow's Rock - Dramatic NFT Art

0 22
Avatar for sembrandounpais
1 year ago
Topics: NFT, Art, Blog, Venezuela
Sponsors of sembrandounpais
empty
empty
empty

Textures are the pattern of lines that make up things and that contain the colors in the shapes so that none of them get out of place. I love textures and that is why I like rough, irregular and restless things where shapes are not symmetrical and where nature makes its own compositions.

I am fascinated by large, pointed rocks because they are a park of textures, and I also love seeing how the waves of the sea break on the shores and the foam dances restlessly on the stones.

I am not a sailor nor have I ever been, I have never lived in a coastal city nor have I had close relatives who are fishermen or members of the navy, but I have always loved the sea.

I see it as a restless system that is always in motion and I identify with it because that is how my mind is; I think of many things at the same time, I develop ideas and without finishing them I am already thinking of something else. On other occasions I have defined myself as a restless person, and analyzing myself deeply I recognize that I am, and that is why I think I like the sea so much.

At the same time I love the textures that the sea forms with its restlessness (it inspires me to create) and when I process the images I still hear the sound of the waves breaking on the coast.

I also love high contrast, when I process my images I love to experiment with settings and create drama through contrast and highlights.

In some cases (as long as the image allows it) I like to force the contrast to very high values between 80 and 100. By doing this the light behind things shines and creates a flare that borders the shapes just as it happened with the rock that gives the title to my work.

This place is not a product of my imagination, it really exists and it is located on the outskirts of the city of La Guaira in Venezuela. I don't know if this place has a name but I name it as the widow's rock because on the top of this rock there is a floral decoration that seems to have been put there to commemorate someone.

Perhaps to one of the deceased of the Vargas Tragedy that occurred in 1999, or perhaps to commemorate a sailor who was lost at sea. The fact is that when I saw this I put my imagination to flight and I remembered the women who lose their husbands at sea, additionally the pelican perched below the ornament became a powerful casual dramatic element.

I minted this art at Kalamint (a Tezos-based NFT market) and sold it shortly after it was published for 3 Tezos, which was around $5 at the time.

I don't usually sell my works for high prices (even though I often mint single editions) because I want my art to be accessible and able to be acquired by those who like it without my collector's financial status being an issue.

Apart from making very varied works for all tastes, I also do them for all pockets. In my opinion this is the best way to bring your art to people; allowing everyone to participate and invest in your work and projects from very low amounts that do not discriminate against anyone.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of sembrandounpais
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sembrandounpais
1 year ago
Topics: NFT, Art, Blog, Venezuela

Comments