What does it mean to have merak?

5 135
Avatar for ruza17
Written by
3 years ago


I didn’t write for a few days even though I followed your articles. For some reason my comments as well as responses to your comments cannot be seen. I know this is not just my problem, but I was very sorry because I like to write and communicate with you. In the end, I decided to keep writing, just for merak.

Then I started thinking about how to explain the meaning of this word to you who are not from Serbia. Well, let me try.

The meaning of the word merak:

- desire, longing for something

- pleasant, pleasant mood, enjoyment, pleasure

- melancholy, depression due to excessive craving, longing for something

expressions:

Have merak on someone:

  • to want, to love someone, something: to crave someone, something

Make merak:

  • spend time in pleasure, enjoy

Derived words:

Meraklija meaning of words:

  • Who loves and knows how to enjoy something; one who loves and knows how to rejoice, to have fun


Among the most beautiful foreign words that describe well-being, love and positive feelings that will become part of the vocabulary composed of expressions and terms that describe pleasure around the world, according to the Independent, there is one word used in the Serbian language - merak.

Although this word is derived from the Turkish language, it is widely used in both speech and literature.It is found both in folk literature and in the works of some Serbian writers, such as Stevan Sremac.

"Merak, a Serbian word, means a pleasure that derives from small things", say the journalists of the Independent.

According to the choice of the Independent journalist, on the list of beautiful words that English experts are working on, "merak" was among those words that describe something wonderful, and it is not possible to translate them into English.

It is similar to the Hawaiian word "aloha", which is used around the world as a welcome greeting, although it literally means "breath of presence".

"Merak", "aloha", the Turkish word "gumuservi" which describes the reflection of the moon on the water, or "cveč" a word used by Welsh people to express the security of hugs, are part of the future dictionary used by psychologist Tim Lomas from the University of East London.

Among those words, the journalists chose the Japanese "nakama" which means close friends, one of whom is in love with each other platonic, but also "odal" which in Sri Lanka expresses false anger towards a loved one, the Dutch "gezeligeid" which expresses a feeling of warmth when you are together with a loved one.

Among those words is the Chinese "Ji ji ji show, yu zi xie lao" when you hold the hand of a loved one and grow old together, but also the anti-Portuguese "kafun" which means the feeling when you run your fingers through the hair of a loved one.

For now, there are slightly more than 200 positive, untranslatable words in that dictionary, which are divided into three groups. The first refers to feelings - positive and complex, the second to mutual relations and closeness, and the third to the character of potentials and spirituality.


I hope you enjoyed my article.

In the end, remember, merak has no price, and I just had merak to write this article.

7
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.01 from @Lawa1988
Sponsors of ruza17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ruza17
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Ah meraka in the evening of the wound.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a really cool notion =) its l]things like these that make me think it is important to connect with other parts of the world with different cultures... BECAUSE MINE LITERALLY DOESN"T have a word for this...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! That's a very nice word "merak". I never heard that before and it's my pleasure to know this from you. I missed your presence and I hope this gets sorted just like the others who are experiencing the same scenario.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am really thrilled with this post of yours! I am from Serbia and I know what a measure is, but I must tell you that I am glad to read your post again, after a few days of your absence. I am very sorry that it happened to you at Read Cash, that your comments were hidden, because you are a really great writer and I was able to read a lot of good, useful and valuable comments from you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Among the most beautiful foreign words that describe well-being, love and positive feelings that will become part of the vocabulary composed of expressions and terms that describe pleasure around the world,

$ 0.00
3 years ago