The Aroma of Coffee Awakens the Senses.

17 47
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Son, we don't have any coffee for tomorrow!... that sentence rings in my son's ears as if it were the worst news a mother could give her son. He puts both hands on his head and says: "It can't be! and rushes off to the grocery store near the house to buy coffee. Does this scene sound familiar to you?, does the same thing happen in your house?

In the mornings, every day whoever gets up first prepares the coffee. And we have a play on words that we always say. When we make coffee we ask those who drink coffee at home, my son and my granddaughter, if they want coffee. And we always answer "silly question", of course we want it. It's a game we play because here at home if you don't drink coffee there is no life... hahaha... literally, it changes our daily routine, we start to get headaches, we get hungry faster and even our mood changes.

from unsplash

My son and I in the mornings, each with our respective cups, start talking about the events of the previous day, it's like a family report. Sometimes, we spend a long time in that conversation and if we run out of coffee in the cups we refill them. After a while, when my granddaughter gets up, I also ask her the routine question: "do you want coffee?", and she answers: "grandma, silly question, of course!"


My son, after chatting with me for a while, goes to his daily activities, goes to his office, that is, to his room, and starts his daily routine as an English translator. He has had several online engagements, and with his cup of coffee, it is like being in his environment, because it keeps him active.

from unsplash

The same thing happens to me, I retire to my office, that is, my room with my cup of coffee. How many people now have their rooms as their office, I would say that many people now with their cups of coffee do their work routine at home. It is a change in lifestyle that this pandemic has left us, or it is leaving us now.

Going back to the coffee topic. I started drinking coffee since I started studying at the university in the evenings. Because during the day I worked. I started working when I was 19 years old. And I studied at night. To keep me active, so that I wouldn't fall asleep in class, I drank coffee until late at night, because my last class was almost always until 10 or 11 o'clock at night.

As the years went by and after several postgraduate studies, I began to work in several universities as a professor in undergraduate research projects. I had to read, correct, and advise undergraduate and graduate work of many university students, there were many, and to keep me active I resorted to coffee. Sometimes I would leave the university late, no longer as a student, but as a professor.

from unsplash


Here in Barinas, I started working as a coordinator in a training program for a refinery staff, and I was in the field all day. Full work, from morning until late afternoon. The break was just for lunch, and coffee was what kept me going all day.

Now in this new time, on the read.cash platform, every time I write, comment on an article I read or respond to one of the comments made to me, guess who accompanies me...., oh yes, my cup of coffee.

from unsplashDon't think that I'm overdoing it with coffee, no, not at all. It's just part of my routine. But the headache thing, if I stop drinking it for two days, it's true. Sometimes, the headache comes after one day without drinking coffee. Am I like the alcoholic who doesn't recognize his or her addiction?.

In the afternoons I only drink a cup of coffee. After 3 o'clock in the afternoon I don't drink any coffee until the next day. And it doesn't keep me awake at all. I sleep my normal 8 hours peacefully, with no insomnia problems or anything like that.

My son is the same, he sleeps peacefully at night, as if nothing happened. We are addicted to coffee. It's at the top of our shopping list, it's a staple.

Is it the same for you, does the aroma of coffee awaken your senses?

Thanks again to my sponsors and friends who follow me, to all of you who stop by with a cup of coffee to read my articles, to all of you, cheers, let's toast to life. Thank you.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 11.85
$ 11.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 5
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

I do love coffee. I'm not sure if the aroma does awaken my senses but it does uplift my mood when I smell the aroma. For me, coffee makes me sleep but I still drink it. Maybe it's the habit of something warm to drink. When I drink 3-in-1 instant coffee, it gives me hunger pangs where it makes me sweaty, weak and really ravenous so I stopped that and went for just plain black coffee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If when you smell it, it lifts your spirits, of course, coffee awakens your senses, at least the sense of smell, and since you like it hot, touch is another sense that is awakened, and what can we say about the sense of taste, when you decide to drink it alone. I liked your comment. Thank you my friend. Happy beginning of the week.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes yes coffee.... i am taking actually an 8 in 1 type of coffee which helps my milk production

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really...how nice. thanks for commenting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love coffee too, i feel too much sleepy throughtout the day if I did not drink a cup of coffee. This really helps me to be energize. We called it COFFEE IS LIFE😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, coffee gives us the energy we need to be active during the day. Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My day begins after I have my first cup of coffee. I like it black, not too strong and without sugar. And I drink several cups a day. I never say no if someone asks me, would you like a coffee? haha. At home, we can lack anything but not coffee. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to the club of those of us who enjoy a good coffee. or several, in our case. Thanks for your comment, cheers my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like to drink coffee in the morning. It makes me more alert and it also smells so nice. Sometimes I drink coffee after lunch. I rarely drink coffee in the afternoon or evening, only when I'm at a party, like a wedding or a birthday. Then I'm usually awake longer. Once I drank a strong coffee at 5 pm and couldn't sleep the whole night.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my case I drink it until 3 o'clock in the afternoon. Then I leave it to start the new day. Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have read up a lot of writings about coffee and the value a lot people place on it. Addiction to coffee may not be too good for human health. I rather would settle for water instead of coffee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything in excess is not good. Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The same thing happened in my mother's house, we had a brother that when someone saw that he was coming to drink coffee we all ran to grab it before because when he arrived he drank it all...we called him the tank and nowadays that makes us laugh a lot when we remember our childhood days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At home the same thing happens, if I'm careless my son leaves me without coffee. Thanks for your comment. Happy day my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here. I also use coffee as my energy booster at work.. I usually partner it with dunkin donut's choco butternut.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice. Here at home, we accompany it with bread or crackers. Thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I usually accompany my coffee with salted bread

$ 0.00
2 years ago