Happiness in a bowl of soup

17 54
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

The pabellon criollo is the traditional Venezuelan dish. Very tasty, the dish has black beans, shredded meat, white rice and fried plantain slices. But today I don't want to eat pabellon criollo, today I want a delicious and nutritious soup. Soup is my favorite dish. In Venezuela soup can also be called sancocho, and if the main ingredient is fish or chicken it is called hervido (boiled). Soup in Venezuela has many versions in its recipe. It can be a sancocho of chicken, beef, mondongo or fish hervido.  I enjoy any version, but I want the soup to be served in a big bowl and to be allowed to repeat.  

In the eastern part of the country, as it is a coastal area, it is very common that the soup is a fish hervido. But the soup or hervido that they prepare in the east has the characteristic that the vegetables and meats, whether beef, chicken or fish, are cut into large chunks. You can see big chunks of potato, celery, pumpkin, ocumo, yucca, yam and green plantain, sticking out deliciously from the surface of the steaming broth. The broth is not that thick. If the soup is not fish soup, it can be beef soup, with its big pieces of meat, if it is rib or tripe soup, or whole pieces of thigh or other parts of the chicken, everything is big! But that doesn't detract from the flavor, and if it's made in a wood fire it gives it a very special smoky flavor. It is the best if you are with your family or friends at the shore of a river, or at the beach, that soup will taste like glory. It is always accompanied with cassava or arepa made in the same stove, next to the big pot where the soup is made. What more can you ask from life, say if that is not happiness?

From unsplash

In the west of the country, in Barinas, where I currently live, the soup is also popular, thank God for that. Here the typical soup is called "picadillo llanero", guess why? All the vegetables are cut in small square pieces, almost all of the same shape and size. The same is done with the beef, picadillo with all the ingredients. Their broth is thicker. Here the Barinés People add rice to everything, no lie, no exaggeration, seriously, they add rice to everything, so the Barinés people accompany the soup with a bowl of rice so that you can add the rice to your soup yourself. I have never really understood that, because in the end it is not soup what they eat, but a cream of rice. I don't add rice, it's not my habit. I prefer a good arepa or toasted bread next to the bowl.
 
Another very delicious soup that I love is sopa de mondongo (Tripe soup). It is a thick soup that is prepared with beef belly, pig's feet, and various vegetables, the same as in the beef or chicken soup. It is a soup that requires more preparation time, because you have to clean the beef belly and the pig's feet very very well and do a previous cooking, that is, the beef belly and the pig's feet are prepared a day before making the soup. I remember two years ago, on December 31, I wanted to end the year eating something tasty, and I prepared a tremendous tripe soup. I started to prepare it a day before, that is, on the 30th. For me those two days were special. I ended the year with something that I love and that makes me happy.

From unsplash

The soup in Venezuela is prepared to gather the family, it is usually made on weekends, or on special occasions, in a river, or a beach, or simply at the backyard of a home, in a firewood stove. In every Venezuelan home, there is always a huge pot for a big soup. It is common that the day after a big celebration where a lot of liquor has been drunk, a big soup is prepared to remove "el ratón" or hangover. It restores the soul to the most fallen. If the soup were called happiness, I would fill my bowl with happiness and.... let me repeat.  

Reader friend, how is the soup in the area where you live... Is it your favorite food?

Thank you all for following me here, reading and commenting on my posts, special thanks to my sponsors and readers who follow me, for all a bowl full of happiness.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

15
$ 13.97
$ 13.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 10
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

Oh sister, what I like the most is the mondongo soup. But a good mondongo soup made with lots of love so that it is well loaded with nutrients.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, love is a key ingredient to make it a good and nourishing soup. Greetings to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You make me hungry. I love all these soups except mondongo. And what you call picadillo llanero, I call it Hervido Picado and absolutely love it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in Barinas they add rice to the picadillo. Not everyone knows how to fix sancocho de mondongo. Thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had a Colombian friend who used to add rice to the Hervido.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to try it! Looks really delicious. I like soup and this one is for sure distinct in your country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my country the soup is exquisite, and when it is made in a wood stove it has a special smoky flavor, which makes it even more delicious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sounds good. I like to eat soups. I would like to try it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you could send soup from a distance I'm sure I'd send you a bowl, but the technology just doesn't get there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've provoked me with every meal you mention.... provokes me to go for a walk again like before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The problem is the gasoline to get around, otherwise we would already be in a river or on a beach lighting a fire. 

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, I'd love to have some of that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

from the distance, I wish you a bowl of happiness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sweet of you, amiga!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In your side soup is looking like so tasty 🤤. Here well! I don’t like soup but if the soup of noodles comes then I don’t leave a single spoon of it in a bowl.

Hehe ! I thought you are saying who follow me , for all a bowl of soup.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahahaha... .I wish a bowl of happiness to you all my followers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago