Fear of sleeping Alone

10 49
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

I turn off the light in my room to sleep, almost immediately my granddaughter comes in and says to me in a tearful voice: "Grandma, please, can I stay with you and sleep in your bed?"

This happened last night because my granddaughter's parents have been insisting for many days that she has to sleep in her room. Her mother has stayed several times to keep the child company until she falls asleep, but in the early morning when they are completely asleep, she puts them back to bed. Last night they locked their door to prevent the child from coming into their room, and she came into my room. Today in the morning I talked to my granddaughter and told her that it was only for one time, she will not sleep with me for the next few nights.

I know that accepting her in my room was not the right thing to do because far from making her feel safe and secure I interfere with her independence and security. The right thing would have been for me to take her back to her room and stay with her for a while until she calmed down and fell asleep. But I confess that she stirred my grandmotherly heart as she came crying for company.

Fear is a universal emotion, all human beings have gone through those fears of sleeping alone and in the dark. Children have this fear of the dark and it is a normal emotion. Who among us did not experience this night fear as a child? It is one of the most common childhood fears.

I always recommend to parents that a child should not watch horror or mystery films, especially in the evening hours a few hours before going to bed. Such films are not made for the little ones. Their minds do not distinguish between reality and fiction. In fact, even we adults don't.

The night is the perfect time to draw monsters and ghosts in every corner or in every movement of a curtain at the window. In the silence and darkness, the child's imagination flies and produces figures of terror in those moments when they are alone before going to sleep.

Most children between 7 and 10 years of age begin to see the problems that may occur in their family environment and become more sensitive to their reality. They are also aware of the concept of death, they begin to understand that there is an end for all people and living beings. They are more sensitive to the death of a pet. They begin to understand aspects of reality, for example, negative appraisals, anxiety about school work, difficulties in being with other children, their fragile self-esteem, possible separation from parents, are some aspects that can make it difficult for children to fall asleep.

The children have to understand that there is no danger at home, that even if they sleep alone in their room, their parents are close by. They must have a conversation and let them know that under no circumstances should they spend the night in bed with their parents. Let them understand that it is good to sleep close but not together.

It is good to create a bedtime routine, establish a healthy eating routine, a glass of milk, for example, reading a children's story or a beautiful family story, with a language of love and affection to create a relaxed atmosphere before bedtime. The child will feel relaxed, accompanied, and very safe.

It is good to leave a low-intensity light on and above all not to close the bedroom door. If the child still goes back to the parents' room at night, in an affectionate but authoritative tone of voice, repeat to the child that he or she should be in his or her room and accompany him or her back to bed.

Do not allow them to stay in your room, be consistent in your routine. After a while, the child will get used to sleeping alone.

Do you have a story similar to my granddaughter's?... are you afraid of sleeping alone and in the dark?

Thank you for following my posts and for your comments.

Thanks to my sponsors for your support, you guys rock.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Pictures from unsplash.com

9
$ 12.72
$ 12.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 3
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

Hello, my friend,

Yes, children and not-so children suffer from fear of the dark. Sure, evil is not always in the dark.

I remember my own fears and those of my children. I think the important thing is to teach them that you are never completely alone in life and that darkness is another state in the world.

Sooner rather than later the fears will vanish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello my friend... evil is not always in the darkness, most of the time it is in the mind. childhood fear is a normal and natural process of every living being. it is a part of childhood that is overcome without trauma. Thank you for your valuable comment, I appreciate it a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i am not fond of horror movies for the same reason as well so I am not letting my baby watch those kind of movies too.. i hope he won't be influenced by anyone though...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right not to let your baby watch horror movies. A child's imagination is very active and they don't know reality from fiction. I don't like horror movies either, I stopped watching them many years ago. Thank you for your comment, I appreciate it very much, best regards to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My son never had a problem sleeping alone. But I remember when we were children either even teenagers my sister had fear to sleep with the light off. And it was a problem because we slept in the same room. And I remember that my mom had to buy her one of those little lamps that plug into the wall and put it next to her bed so that the light wouldn't bother me too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The important thing is that your sister is now an adult and overcame that fear. I'm glad your son didn't have a problem sleeping alone as a child, nor was he afraid of the dark. Thanks for your comment friend, I appreciate it very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to be afraid of the dark when I was a lot younger.. and it was because of what I watched as I was growing... it’s good to always be careful what we show our kids at a very tender age. Very lovely write up

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right, you have to be very careful what you let young children see. because they don't know fact from fiction. I'm glad you liked my content. Thanks for commenting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I do have similar story, back when I was a child. I cant sleep without my mom beside me. Because I'm scared.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

As I referenced in the content, childhood fear is normal. Traumatic would be if even as an adult you keep that fear in your mind. Thanks for commenting. 

$ 0.00
2 years ago