Do I know Myself?

10 57
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

There are people who don't know how to live. Ok, I put it another way, it is not enough to breathe, you also have to know how to live. But are we aware of the way we live our lives so that we can assume 100% of our responsibility to live? Not all people are aware of how they are living their life. They go through life just breathing.

I know people I have stopped seeing for years and when we meet again it is as if only one day has passed since I last saw them. They are always in the same emotional situation, their conversations are always complaining, it's always the same excuse and the same justifications. It is as if they have no motivation to live. It's as if time has stopped for them, they have no priorities in life, no purpose.

Now I will tell you about me. Do I know myself? As long as I can remember, I have always had priorities in my life. When I was younger my priority was to study, and my mother's priority was for me to study. She would not let me do any housework without finishing my homework. I was able to successfully complete my undergraduate and graduate studies. I was able to continue studying for a doctorate in Social Sciences but it is not my priority now. Although I have a degree in educational psychology, I put on hold pursuing psychology, psychology is my passion, but not my priority.

As I grew older, my priorities changed. When I got married and had two children, my priority was them. When I read articles by young mothers, they always write that they would do anything for their children. Of course, they would do anything, children are every mother's priority.

Now, after my divorce and my sons are grown up, they are good men, who have their own families, my priority has changed again. Now, after many years, my priority is again for me. Not that it wasn't before, but before I was always focused on my children, on my studies, on my work, now I focus on myself first, on my person.

What is my priority at the moment? I keep researching, investigating, studying in my personal priority with God. Reading the Bible is my priority. It is part of my personal growth and development. I have not stopped reading and studying about my passion which is psychology, but the Bible opens the way of knowledge and understanding of the Word of God and places wise words in me, to guide and give advice to others.

Another priority is to live in the present. Now I don't want to remember the past sad moments. I do not even like to remember the boyfriends I have had ... hahaha ... I want to live the present, but nice, relaxed, without stress, without complaints and anxieties, which can produce me the economic situation, politics of the country, or other toxic people, who come with their negative situations to want to take away my peace and tranquility. It is not that I am ignoring or belittling the real situation, not at all, I am aware of the facts. What I do not allow is that those facts or toxic people influence my emotional state. I make the most of the time I live.

I try as a priority to maintain good relations with my family and my surroundings, with my neighbors. Although there are few of them left because some of them have left the country. In this sense, social networks have been a support to maintain communication with them.

Being happy is also a priority for me. I like to remember happy moments of the happy past, that I like to remember. My trips, my beach, my Gran Sabana. I like to talk with positive, cheerful people. I like nature, fresh air, watching birds, flowers, a sunset, the simple details of life. All these details make me happy. I am grateful to God for life.

What do I value and what do I think is important for me at this moment of my life? Money is important to me because with it I acquire my basic needs. But the value of things has nothing to do with money, I value today more my health and love. My health is always in God's hands, although I support my health with some medicines that I take from time to time and with good nutrition.

Love is also a priority for me. But not love for a partner, which in fact I don't have. I haven't been in love with anyone for a long time, I don't have butterflies in my stomach... hahaha.... I am referring to love towards oneself. The Word says as a commandment to love your neighbor as yourself. It means that God commands me to love myself first. For how can I love my neighbor if I do not love myself? That is why I try to eat healthy food, take walks in the morning or when the sun goes down, be kind, help those who need me, give the best of me, take care of my self-esteem, do not cling to the past. Now I invest more in myself.

With the pandemic, I have stopped traveling, but I love to travel, most of the time I do it alone, not because I don't like company, but because I don't depend on other people to travel. I am very sociable, I love to have new friends, cheerful and optimistic about life, I stay away from toxic people.

I feel like a successful woman. I want you to know that success in life does not have to be based on material goods, success is living life according to your values. That at the end of the day you are happy with yourself and that this happiness is perceived by those around you.

I am happy, the creator of my own possibilities in life. Always with my heart open to new adventures. For me, every day is an adventure. It is a success. Always with faith and hope that better times will come.

Finally, I would like to ask you... Do you know yourself?, do you know what your priorities are? I leave you with the gift of a Word about the importance of our thoughts, to lead a happy life, in Proverbs 4:23. "Above all things take heed to your heart, for out of it flows life" Our mind and heart are priorities for a peaceful, joyful life. To be happy.

Grateful to God for the adventure of being in this read.cash community and sharing my writings with you, with my sponsors for their support and for those who always read and leave their comments. You are the best.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Pictures from: Unsplash.com

6
$ 7.65
$ 7.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 4
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

The most interesting part of the story is that the words of God have become your top priority. In this modern age with the internet and all that comes with it, scarcely can you find a young woman having the time to read the Bible. Am happy even though you are single, you have found happiness in this world beyond measure. May the Lord Jesus keep you and all that is yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So be it. Thank you for your words. I know they are sincere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

happiness is and should always be our priority in life.. i must look into myself and do a self check now that I have become a mother... a lot of things had changed in the past years and with the pandemic still here, things are never the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

happiness should be a way of life. Even with the pandemic we should not deviate from our priorities. Thanks for reading and commenting. 

$ 0.00
2 years ago

welcome dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how you changed and switched your priorities, but all good ones. I know you are lso a happy woman, because you prioritize your relationship with God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Priorities change as life changes, but the relationship with God never changes. Thank you for joining me in reading my article and for your valuable comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure, madam. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also believe in God and my priority for a long time has been to be happy...I love the phrase with which you begin...it is not enough to breathe, you also have to know how to live. I wish many of us understood more of this phrase

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We waste a lot of time on complaints and anxieties. We have to make it one of our priorities to feel good. To feel that each day has its own value. Thanks for reading and commenting my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago