A Haven of Peace

3 32
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

When I look out the window of my house and see the lonely street, without people or vehicles, I immediately get an image in my mind of those rolled up balls of dried plants that roll in the wind in western movies. I had never been curious about what those balls of dried plants are called until I thought of them today when I was looking out my window.

Little did I know that they are actually whole plants or shrubs. In America their most common name is barrilla or tumbleweed. In other areas they are known by different names: as rodamundos, capitana, salsola, salicor, to name a few. What is true is that always in the movies when they come out rolling down a street driven by the wind represents that it is a place that is deserted.

So every time I look out my window I see several "barrillas" or "salicor" in my imagination crossing in front of me. The street is always quiet, deserted, no life to be seen, not a dog in sight, few vehicles circulating. Before the pandemic, it was the same, but in December it is even lonelier. Most of my neighbors have relatives in other residential areas or on farms. They all go out to visit during these days and the neighborhood is practically solitary. Few of us stay in our homes. Particularly most of my family lives far away and I cannot go out to visit them because it requires a lot of money and several days to go to them. So I stay at home.

Also, the neighborhood is extremely quiet, it seems that there is no life for miles. It invites you to relax, to live in stillness, to stay quiet. But not everyone likes so much quiet and tranquility.  On one occasion I gave lodging to a friend to stay at home for about 15 days until he solved some personal problems. A few days later, he solved his personal issues left my home quickly, he did not want to stay more days as a guest because he said he was not used to so much silence and tranquility. I love where I live because it is relaxing and quiet.

The name of the neighborhood is like it was chosen especially for that area. The zone is on the outskirts of the city, about 10 minutes from the center of the capital of the state of Barinas. The neighborhood is a private area called "El Remanso" (The Haven).

So everything matches, both the name of the neighborhood "El Remanso" and the idea of being calm and relaxed not only at home but in the surroundings. Here is a place where you can be calm, without pressures or anxieties. Although, for some people it may not seem like an ideal place to live, for me it is. This is my place that offers me a haven. This is my haven of peace, it is my space where I can find tranquility and calm, away from all the hustle and bustle.

Wherever you have your heart and you feel inner peace and love in your heart, this is your place, this is your haven, whether in the city or in a quiet place...

Do you like to live in a haven of peace or do you prefer the city and its hustle and bustle?

From "El Remanso" I wish you happy holidays full of peace and love, to all those who write interesting content on read.cash, to my followers and to all my sponsors. May God fill your hearts with peace and love... Happy Holidays to all.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Pictures from: pixabay.com

7
$ 18.07
$ 12.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 5.00 from @gertu13
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
+ 4
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

I wish to live in a quiet place just like this and everywhere so calm and peaceful… if I was truly blessed with that I’ll cherish it so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you have a quiet inn. That's the way I like it too. I raised the walls of the house and Pedro at first told me that it looks like a fortress. When I explained to him why I needed it that way he accepted it. There are many people who want what little I have in sight. My plants, my cactus and succulents. And now my office. I will put up a camera soon because there are always those who insist on coming in. But now I sleep more peacefully. And my peace is not disturbed by strangers. During the day it is very hectic here, the office with the patients, my plants with the transplant, putting the pump on and carrying water. But at 5pm they all leave. I close my fortress. I start writing. My mind flies and I love my peace and quiet. Merry Christmas sister! There you have the aguinaldo, I hope it helps you to buy something on my behalf.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to live in your neighborhood. I prefer peace and quiet. There are lots of noises that can be heard in our neighborhood, man made or not. It can be bothersome but I get to learn to live with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago