My Journey as a Volleyball Player

4 428
Avatar for renren16
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Experiences

I was in my sixth grade when I first play the sport Volleyball. As what I can remember, I was encouraged playing it by my Aunt. Back then, she was a Volleyball player in our small barangay and she was also the team captain.

Image from google

At first, I was very amazed how she and the other members of the team played the said sport. The way they handle the ball, from serves and receive, the most essential skill of Volleyball. Because of the amazement and amusement, I started to be interested playing it and my Aunt was my very first coach.

Image from google

To avoid conflicts with my studies, my Aunt decided to scheduled my practice every after my classes in the afternoon. In my first day of practice, wearing my sport's attire, or course (proper attire talaga dapat๐Ÿ˜…), I felt the excitement and a little bit of nervous. My Aunt called up for me and introduced me to her teammates. She said, " This is my niece, and she will be our new recruit." I was very shocked because I didn't expected that she just said that.๐Ÿ˜ณ

Sponsors of renren16
empty
empty

My very reason is just to know the basics but I never had any idea that she recruited me as part of their team. I can't explain the emotions I felt at that time. And fortunately, her teammates, without hesitations accepted me right away.

The following days of the training, the barangay captain, called them up, and announced that there will be a so-called "Liga sa Barangay" for the upcoming fiesta celebration of our neighborhood barangay. After the information, my Aunt called up a meeting with the team for the said event and they had decided to participate the said "Paliga".

After the meeting mu Aunt told me that I will be playing for the upcoming competition, I was shocked because I knew that I was just a beginner and not a well-trained player, but I didn't refused to her offer and I was very happy and excited to play my very first competition.๐Ÿ˜„

Image from google

The "Liga sa Barangay" came and of course we do came too. I was trembling with excitement and nervousness looking at the opponents that seems to be a strong one. My Aunt comforted me thou. Because of lack of training, I can't serve and recieve the ball properly and I keep on throw out scores to our opponent. So my Aunt decided to change me and be at the bench area. I was sad and disappointed but my Aunt smiled and cheered me up. As a benched-player what I did was to cheered for my team. It was a closed-game thou, and unfortunately we lost in that game. The team was sad but my Aunt suddenly shouted, "Bilog ang bola, bawi na lang tayo sa susunod!" I really cried but I said to myself, "I will really train hard for it and go for the win the next time."

The following days after the "Paliga", I was graduated in my sixth grade and left my first team because I prepared for my highschool life. But during free time, especially weekends, I still play and train with them.

During my highschool days, I was able to joined the Volleyball team at the school and fortunately had participated a lot of Volleyball competitions like "Interschool Meet", and "Town-Meet." My Volleyball career in highschool was very memorable to me, aside from meeting a lot of new friends, I had also a new coach and a new team. My Aunt still help me trained and my coach also taught me new skills like spiking and blocking. Because of my height, I focused more on serving, receiving, and spiking the ball.

Image from google

(Fast Forward)

When I was in college, I participated in the try-outs for the Volleyball. I showed my skills I learned during my elementary and highschool days, and luckily, I was accepted as a new recruit. I had my new teammates and a new coach also. I may say he was a little but strict but I do love the way he taught us. Before executing each basic skills, he explained first the proper positions of the arms and feet for each skill. With the help also of my new team, I had enhance my skills in serving, receiving the ball. I also learned to properly position my body during the spike and learned that I can also block the ball even though I am not that blessed with height.

This picture was captured during SCUAA 2017

Another memorable events on my Volleyball career was built. I was able to participate in the "Intramural Meet", "University Games" and the most memorable one was the "SCUAA GAMES 2017", held at the "Visayas State University." I participated the "Beach-Volleyball Women's Category" and out of twelve university, as I still remembered, our team was in the fourth place. Though, we were not able to join the National SCUAA, but it was my most happy moment in my Volleyball journey.

As a player, I would say, because of Volleyball, I enhanced not just my skills but I was able to understand the true essence of Sportsmanship.

Writing this story reminds me a lot of moments in my Volleyball career, from the happy moments to sad, from losses and of course to our victories. It reminds me of the hard work and patience I've been through during those times. And now, as a graduate of Bachelor of Secondary Education majoring in MAPE, I hope that I will be able to share my experiences and what I learn during my Volleyball days. Hopefully, I will be a recruited as a Teacher and became also a coach, very soon.๐Ÿ˜‡โ˜บ๏ธ

Wish me luck guys๐Ÿ˜‡

Thank you for reading my story๐Ÿ˜Š

God Bless Us๐Ÿ˜‡

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for renren16
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Experiences

Comments

Nice article. I came here because of your squats comment to check out the results you got from that exercise. ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ™ˆ

There was no picture of your backside, but I can imagine it's looking good. Volleyball players are usually very fit. ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha๐Ÿ˜… It was 2 yrs. ago. But now, I gained weight, a lot.. ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, probably because of the lockdowns and so on.

But you're young. You will get back in shape. I'm sure. ๐Ÿ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully๐Ÿ˜Œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago