An Old Times Christmas!

42 48
Avatar for renren16
2 years ago

12:32 PM|12052021#153|3RD

Do you still remember those times when you were still young? How did you celebrated your Christmas, specifically in school and with your friends?

Have you ever join singing carols in your neighbors and neighborhood barrios, together with your friends? Have you experience making a musical instrument out of cans or bottle caps? Have you experience making lanterns as a school project? Have you join in "Lantern Making Contest" featuring the Biggest and the most beautiful lantern made out of recyclable materials? Are you one of those who believe in Santa Claus?

Sponsors of renren16
empty
empty

--->Check out the works of my wonderful sponsors. They are great writers!πŸ˜‰<---

Image source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/8132316@N08/5222845707

Back when I was in my Elementary years, we were used to make lanterns as our school project for the month of December and tasked to make a Christmas Tree out of recyclable materials. (e.g. plastic wrappers, disposable spoon and fork, bamboo sticks and the like). Our school, specifically our grade level, also held an event in which the participants should make their lantern, the biggest and most beautiful one among all. Of course, all made out of recyclable materials. As for me, my papa made my lantern project out of coconut "Ginit" and bamboo sticks. Some of my classmates were using used cellophanes or plastic wrappers, and straws. What's more unique was when one of my classmates used "walis titing" and coconut leaves for his lantern. It looks like this;

Image source: https://in.pinterest.com/pin/164451823877347879/

And of course, his lantern was declared as the most beautiful among all. Even though my lantern didn't won, I am still happy at that time because my papa made it for me. I think I was still a grade 4 student at that time, but when my papa made me something worthy enough, I really appreciate it all. May it big or small, as long as my papa was the one who made it for me. Same is through with my mama. She's the one who assisted my papa in making the lantern I submitted as my project, as well as for the said contest.

The teachers also held a Christmas Party before we had our Christmas Break. And we used to have an exchanging gift. Common gifts I received were mugs or picture frame. In that said party, we contributed at least two hundred pesos for the foods and drinks. There were also a lot of games initiated by our adviser and of course, there's a prize for the winners. All of as were very happy in that event. ("I missed it all.")

Image source: https://philippinechristmasart.wordpress.com/carols/

On the other hand, when we had our Christmas Break, our youth leader gathered us and we had a meeting for the "Pangangaroling." We had planned about the songs that we sang, the meeting time, the days of "Caroling", the instruments we used (made out of empty cans and bottle caps) and for the proceeds of the money we've got.The funny thing about this "Pangangaroling" is when you will be chased by a dog or being barked by it.

Image source: https://www.facebook.com/GovRamil/photos/naranasan-nyo-na-bang-tahulan-at-habulin-ng-aso-dahil-sa-pangangaroling-ninyo-no/2540182485997677/

One time, we decided to have the caroling in house owned our Barangay Captain. Some of the youth were hesitant, especially the girls, because they knew that there was a dog in that house. Including me, and you know, I was then afraid of dogs. But our youth leader guaranteed and persuaded us to do so because she said that the owner will give us a bigger amount than the other houses. And we really ended up going there. And...(Arf...Arf...Arf...) The dog really barked at us. And the next thing we did was we kept on running away from that house but the dog was chasing us while kept on barking. The following day, my parents didn't allowed me anymore to join in the caroling because of that incident. Good thing the youth leader understand the situation and still gave me my part. We also had our Christmas Party.

During High School, there's still a Lantern Projects, and Christmas Tree making in each classrooms, and Christmas Party. But I must say, I enjoyed more the Christmas Events that happened in my Elementary Years than the High School. Maybe I just really had lots of happy and funny moments.

By the way, Do you believe in Santa Claus? I mean the one that others being described? The one who rode a reindeer, bringing gifts for the children, and having a long white beard? As for me, I used to. Hehe. Well, you know, I was still so young at that time. I heard a rumors that if you will hang an empty sock outside your door, it will be filled with many gifts from Santa. I tried it out actually but nothing happens. Maybe I am not that kind, because they say that Santa Claus will only give gifts to the children that are kind. Lol.

At my age today, I am still confused. Is Santa Claus really a guy? Have you seen Santa? Aigo! I don't want to make myself stress for that. Nah!

Hmm...What's your old times experiences about Christmas? Would you mind sharing it though?

Thank you for spending your time, reading my not so cool topic for today. I am not really in a mood to write, but I am still thankful that I finished it. Don't forget to take good care of yourselves.❀️

TO GOD BE ALL THE GLORY!πŸ˜‡

Lead Image source:

Edited from Canva App

________________________

"Thank you to my avid readers, likers, subscribers, and upvoters. As well as my sponsors; (old, new, and renewed ones). Thank you for helping me out and making my read.cash journey meaningful and a fruitful one!"❀️

________________________

_renren16πŸ’š_

17
$ 5.99
$ 5.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 8
Avatar for renren16
2 years ago

Comments

Christmas memories ko talaga palagi sa school nong high school ako, uso kasi yang mga Best in Christmas Decor na classroom tapos ang gagamitin mga indigenous materials. Nangunguha kami ng niyog, mga kahoy para may pangdecor. Tapos may pa contest din sa lantern. Di ko matandaan kung nanalo ba kami. May experience din ako sa carolling, pero sa church yon, walang bayad, kami ang kumakanta sa mga bahay bahay ng members.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayos sana kung mangyari ulit Ms. Lhaine noh? Kaso ngayon, lalo na sa sitwasyon, hindi yata. Kakamiss lang..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My people have no tradition of making lanterns. But there are carols with dressing up as you do on Halloween, but not in horror of course, but in different animals and national clothes, we call it "driving a goat". Our Santa Claus does not fly in a sleigh, and goes to children with gifts with his granddaughter Snegurochka.Our Santa Claus has a large staff and a floor-length coat. How interesting it is for me to learn about different traditions of different peoples;-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, I just knew something new today. Thanks for that dear. Hmm.. I bet, you have a lot of fun experiencing that stuffs..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko lang ung samin gawa naman sa papel, high school kami non nilalagat sa room ba as decoration. Ang saya din balikan ee no, as for carolling diko nagawa yan saduyy mahiyahin ako noon ee huehue

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda din yung gawa sa papel marengs. Tipid na tipid sa gastos for decors. Hmmm.. ako, mahiyain pero sumali nalang din kasi gusto ko ma-experience..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakkamiss tlga nito ba. Ung nag aaral pa lalo na sa elementary, required ka mgdala ng mga lantern tapos pagandahan at palakihan ng lantern kasi may premyo si ma'am heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate much ako sis, gawin ko yan nun bata ako. Talagang naging part time job ko yun pangangaroling. Medyo may talent sa singing eh, songerist NG slight kaya napakinabangan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here sis.. Pero nung minsang hinabol kami ng aso, yun di na ako pinayagan sumama ulit.πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis naranasan ko din yan, kaya may mga kalye kaming iniiwasan puntahan na, nawawalan kasi kami NG tsinelas eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Naiwan pala kakatakbo sis..XD..Aguyy, Ka-alegre!..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nun mga next years naka rubber shoes na kami sism

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para mabilis lang pag takbuhan time na..Haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo yun nga sis, hahahhaa, madami dami na rin kasing tsinelas ang napatid at nawala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha relate maamsh. Pero mangaroling ko sa ahu ra lola ug mga ante sauna haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. Sa kapamilya raman pud diay Mamsh.. Siawa, pero sure-ball naay ihatag uie.πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makarelate gayud kos tanan mars. Haha padal on mi sauna sa among adviser ug lantern tas mao natoy among project.πŸ˜… I pangsabit sa room namu para decoration. Makamiss gayud ang elementary years mamsh.

Mao na ako kahadlokan mamsh pag mangaroling kanang naay iro ang balay tas dako kaayo hadlok kaayo.πŸ˜… Mao sad na amu gamiton pag mangaroling mi sauna mamsh. Perting alegreha gayud pag ayo.πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Gani ni, maruon ning mga teachers.sa kay arun di makagasto ug pang-decorate, kita'y padad.on ug parol..πŸ˜‚ Ka.wise na laman gajud..

Hmm.. Nahh, mao laging pagsunod adlaw, wa na nakauban..XD.. Bitaw, alegre kaajo Mamsh, ambot laman kaha ang karun..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakto gayud ka mamsh.πŸ˜… Ka alegre sad ning mga uban teachers. Ipaagi lang sa projectΒ² para naay ma decorate sa room.πŸ˜…

Hahaha mao gayud mamsh. Hadlok sad kaayo kay basin mamaak na.πŸ˜… Murag lahi naman run mamsh nuh labi nasad kay nagpandemic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gani Mamsh...Bright jud.. Hmm.Bitaw Mamsh, lahi na kay sauna pagtungtong ug December, magsugod naman ug pangaroling..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gayud mamsh.πŸ˜… Bitaw mamsh murag laay na karun mamsh nuh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi Mamsh, laay pa sa laay. Murag way pasko nga muabot ba.. Pero ang importante nga mahatagan jud nato ug pagtagad ang adlaw ni Jesus Christ..πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everywhere just talk about Christmas.Someone is sharing old memories.Someone is planning anew. And I'm just watching.πŸ˜… But whatever you say, I like Christmas decorations and food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe.. You should share your memorable experiences too, if you want to...But, yes, I like Christmas Decors, of course, the Foods too..❀️😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, gikugod man d i sa iro. Makahinumdom man sad ko sauna nga mangaroling mi basta naay iro di na jud mi mupadayon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. Gani sis, maong pagsunod adlaw, wana gisugtan nga muuban.. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natawa ako dun s apart na mugs at pivture frames yung recall kase ganun din natatanggap kp tuwing exchange gifts hahaha. Nung hih school ako may pacontest din eh pero pagandahan ng classroom, dapat maganda yung decorations para manalo, tapos may Xmas party bawat room kase bawal ang buong school dahil INC ang principal, pangit niya kabonding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Yun naman pala, iwan nalang si principal sa party..πŸ˜‚ Meron ding ganyang pa.contest nung highschool, lalo na yung Xmas Tree making.. Aguyy! Kapagod, pero worth it naman kapag na-declare na winner..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Long time my beautiful sister.

And about this. We don’t make lanterns here πŸ˜‚. I just hope they do. Though I don’t celebrate Christmas 🀢. But when we were younger. We do make this Christmas decorations with cardboard and sometimes small Christmas trees. The most memorable one is when they blow bangers and it turn out to be fireworks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe.. But still its a memorable Christmas Celebration bro. I think you really have a lot of fun though..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I did. Make sure to have fun too this December sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully bro...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I read THESE posts on christmas., I just miss to also enjoy it I have never seen Christmas.((

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, mind if I ask you why??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Once, I wanted to go into the church on Christmas but then a friend of mine told me that they ask you if you're catholic or protestant and if you belong to the one which they are not part of they will disgrace you. At that time I was also young so I believed him. but, now anytime I get the opportunity to visit the church I will. But, since I live in outskirt its just toooo far church from here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You shouldn't just believe your friend. But anyways, its all in the past. I hope and pray that you can visit the church again, and celebrate Christmas too..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you renren))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome..))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we visit the neighbors playing an instrument with Christmas songs, but for fun so they join in, the group gets bigger and bigger and we end up in the square singing. When we don't have a tree, presents appear everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its very simple sir Frank but I think you really have a lot of fun..😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we are always looking for ways to have fun, we must not give sadness a chance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah.. Well, all us just wanna have fun..

$ 0.00
2 years ago