Alternative Source of Light!

49 52
Avatar for renren16
2 years ago

Draft Written: 01/10/2022

6:50PM|01.11.2022#163|

Good day fellas? How are you today? How's life in the midst of pandemic? How about after the typhoon? Have you overcome it all? Do you still find the courage and strength to continue life despite the life's challenge that most of us had faced today?

This blog talks about our means of light. I mean our source of light during the night after the destructive strike of typhoon "Odette" in our place. For all you know, we were affected also by the said typhoon. Our source of income, which was the production of coconut wine, or the so-called, "Tuba." Many of the families in our barrio felt the same way, especially those who really are depending their daily needs through this. Gladly, my papa also have a side-line job, which is carpentry. Still, he managed to provide for our family, of course, alongside with the support of my mama. As for me, I am glad to know, that now, I can access my read.cash account and can publish articles, while waiting for a new opportunity to come at me. ("2022, Please naman oh!🤞") Well, actually, I need to exert an extra effort have a signal, because the signal in our barrio is not stable yet.

Going back to the main topic, I was kind of ignorant when I first knew about this thing. It was then two days after the typhoon when I learned to make my own "oil lamp". Actually, its not my first time seeing this thing. I just, maybe, didn't bother myself to make one, especially when we experience a sudden brownouts. We were used to have a "kerosene lamp" instead. And now a days, the price of the kerosene is quite unimaginable. Lol.XD. Well, let me say, "over-priced". But we don't have a choice, we eventually need to buy some of it.

One time, MGD and I went to town to buy some kerosene for our lamp. We also went in there to buy some food as for our dinner that day. And then, we passed by a vegetable stall where the owner place a glass in the center. We bought some vegetables and spices. And I whispered MGD if he can ask the stall owner about the thing I saw. I left MGD in there and look for another stall to buy some fruits too, without knowing that he eventually asked that stall owner on how to make it. He called up for me, and say, "Mhie, we have to buy some salt and oil. As well as, cottons." I just smiled and nodded.

After that, we decided to go home. But before that, we stopped by a gasoline station to buy some kerosene. We also bought some gasoline for our motorcycle. We spent few minutes looking for a gas station, but we failed to buy the kerosene because its not available anymore. And so, we left with no other choice but to try the thing of making the "oil lamp".

We arrived past 4:00 pm at that time. While my mama was busy preparing for our dinner.(Pretty early than the usual, because of brownout.) MGD and I decided to tried it out. I looked for unused glass. Actually, it is an empty container of nescafe. Hehe. MGD prepared the other need materials; "salt, oil, cotton, and the lighter.

Procedures:

First, we make sure that the glass is clean. Then we put the salt. A half of the glass container will do, as what the stall owner said. Second, I rolled some cotton and put in the salt. Make sure that it will not all covered with salt. And lastly, put some oil, but don't let the cotton be soaked directly with the oil. Eventually, the cotton will be wet of oil slowly. Just let it set for less than a minute before you lit it up and your done! You have your own oil lamp.

Captured and edited by yours truly...

We started using it as our lighting at night. We alternately using it with the kerosene lamp, especially because it really require a lot of oil too. But, I hope and pray that the electricity will be back so soon in our barrio, same is through with the other places that were affected by the typhoon.

That's it for this blog my read.cash fam! Well, I know some of you here are familiar with this topic already, but still, I do hope that you enjoyed reading it and for those who are new to my wall, its my pleasure to meet you here in read.cash. And mind you, pangalawang article ko 'to today, nawa'y magtuloy-tuloy ang pag-publish ko. Bawi-bawi sa mga naiwan, dahil sa bagyo.Haha..

Thank you for reading!📖

MAY THE GRACE OF THE LORD BE WITH ALL GOD'S PEOPLE!😇

Lead Image source:

captured and edited using Pixlab App

________________________

Sponsors of renren16
empty
empty

I would like to extend my deepest gratitude towards the people that keep supporting my works in here. To my avid readers, likers, subscribers, and upvoters. As well as my sponsors; (old, new, and renewed ones), I thanked you all. Thank you for making my read.cash journey fruitful. And, thank you for our virtual friendship. May the Lord God bless us more fruitful days, months, and years to come!🥂❤️

_______________________

_renren16💚_

xoxo:-*

13
$ 3.51
$ 3.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @AlphaCron
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 10
Avatar for renren16
2 years ago

Comments

Laban jod ag atong mga suga mamsh. 3 month paman kaha lge usa mosiga 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lagi kuno.. Hayyss saon na lang jud.. Kadugay pa..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a good alternative. I hope your electricity will be restored. Hirap din walang kuryente.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy oo sis. Ang hirap talaga. Pero, okay nalang din kaysa walang tubig..May ibang lugar kasing wala na ngang kuryente, wala pang tubig..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, yon naman ang mahirap yung walang tubig. Mas okay pa nga na walang ilaw kesa tubig ang wala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akong nahibaw an te kay aside sa saly pwede bugas. Na aware ko ani sa FB rasad i thought atik.x ra pero mugana jud diay siya. Amping ml always ate ren!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe.. Hmm, wala ko kahibaw ug payt ba sad ug bugas gamiton. Sayang man pud lagi ug bugas. Mahal raba..:)) Kamo pud diha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana marestore na ang ilaw jan sa inyo.. kya need ng solar light pra my gagamitin in case of emergency

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga sis eh. Mag-fi-fiesta pa naman... Meron naman kami sis, pero di rin naglo-long last kasi di naman maaraw masyado. Minsan nga, may naka-nakang ulan..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami sis bumili kami ng solar light para tipid kami sa candila or gas. Itatapat lang namin sa araw for 8 hours pwede na siya tumagal for the whole night. Madalas rin kami mawalan ng kuryente lalo na pag bumabagyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May solar light din kami sis, pero di talaga siya nag-lo-long last kasi di masyado matirik ang araw. Kaya, gumawa nalang din kami ng ibang paraan para magka-ilaw sa gabi..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagawa na po namin ito kay lola noon, hehe buti nalang... Useful talaga ito ate ren

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti naman.. Ayy oo, useful kasi may ilaw ka na, tipid pa sa gaas..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kini jud maau gamiton pg brownout kesa sa kandila sis. Maau ky uso pa diha sa inyo ky kmi dri kana jud amo gamit ba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bag.uhay pa pud sis. Nagpahimo pud gani ahung isa ka Auntie, ja pagkahibaw sa uban, naghimo pud sila ug ila. Ang gamit jud lana sa lubi kay daghan baja'y lubi nga nangahagbong.Haha :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Musiga pud diay ng sa lubi? Luhh grvh no gmit na jud ninyo ang tnan para lng musiga sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Likewise then ate ganyan din dito sa amin. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti naman. at mabuti din yun para mas tipid. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True ate☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can also use used cooking oil. Ginagawa ng parents ko yan dati nung bata pa ako tuwing napuputulan kami ng kuryente.

I hope your place recovers soon na dn huhu. Ingat dn kayooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy ganun ba? Ba't naman pinuputol agad yung kuryente, wala ba'ng extention sa pagbabayad hehe. Anyways, its good to know na alam din gawin yun nang parents mo, and I bet, you can make it too.

Hmm, sana nga. Ang boring kasi pag walang kuryente..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kasi ilang buwan di nakakabayad ganern hahaha. mahirap ang buhay namin noon, buti resourceful ang mga magulang ko kahit papano. nilalagyan din namin ng konting tubig ata yun kasi para di uminit din yung bote...basta something like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy sino bang hindi naghihirap uie.. Pero, basta magulang talaga, kahit ano pa yan, gagawin at gagawin nila for the family. Kaya, saludo talaga ako sa mga magulang na ganyan..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww sis this is good! I'm sorry though for all that you're going through. I had to learn how to do this in 2019 during the nations blackout. After that the government stared to ratio the energy so we had 12 hours without energy every day, mostly at night. We made ours with water and oil, a plastic cap and toilet paper. It's tricky but the oil lasted longer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh.. That's good to hear that you have learned to make it already sis. Yeah, its tricky but it is useful, actually..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is, and way healthier than kerosene, my dad couldn't breathe whenever we used those lamps so, oil it was. I hope you get the power service reinstalled soon 🙏🏻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully, so soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chada na siya kay tipid sa kuryente pero hadlok man nga makasunog samot na among balay kay kahoy 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy oo sis. Mura ra gud gihapon sa kerosene nga suga. Pero mahal to uie, maitom pa imong ilong inag ka ugma..Haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A wonderful alternative to light. In our city they often turn off the lights in order to save money. So we have a kerazine lamp, too. The main thing is not to leave such a thing unattended. Now you're not having the best time-you're going through a bad patch in your life. But you are sure to come back and white ;-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in our barrio, we need to have at least one source of lighting at night. And yes, kerosene lamp needs to be attended to, because it might cause a fire, unexpectedly.

Hmm.. Well, I'm hoping for the better days to come dear..:))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In school life, I did it a lot. Load shedding issues were then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh... So you know how to make it mate? Good to hear that..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nindot na siya na alternative sis kung walay gas no? Pero kusog kaayo na sya makahurot ug oil?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas barato sad jud pud siya sa gas sis. Depende sa kadak-on sa cotton nga imong i roll sis. Kay ako, ahu man tuyuon na gamayon ra, para dili makas ang oil. 10 pesos nga oil makagamit nami naa kutob midnight gani.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw mas tipid jud d i sya sis kaysa gas na mahal na kaayo karon. So kung hangtod buntag mga 20 pesos ra ang oil na maconsume

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mga ig.ana jud sis. Pero kung kamao sad ka maghimo ug lana sa lubi, mas payter to kay way gasto.. Kami man gani kay used oil ra'y ibutang..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na remember nako ako nanay sauna, Lana lang sa lubid ang Iya gigamit din cotton pero lahi ang gibutangan niya sa oil.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naa man ju'y pu'y laing pamaagi unsaon paghimo sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also do that before after Yolanda and it really helps. Mahal kasi ang gaas kaya kapag ganyan ang gamit eh tipid talaga.

Sana marestore na ang kuryente sa inyo jan sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy oo sis. Lalo na dito sa'min. Yun nga mas mahirap, naghihirap na nga yung mga tao, yung mga bilihin ang mamahal nang presyo. Aguyy..

Hmm.. Sana nga sis eh. Buti nalang at maliwag ang buwan ngayon, dagdag light na din namin. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mataas kasi ang demand sis tapos konte supply kaya tinataasan nila ang presyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwww. That is great maamsh! At least it is cheaper. Thank you for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek. Mas better sa gas, mahal na, anuosan pa ka inag ka ugma..Haha..

Your welcome..:))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to see the way you prepared this oil lamp. This is at least a good way to get some light in dark.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is my dear and I was really happy and amazed by the result of our little invention. Not original tho. Haha..:))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The typhoon caused a lot of damage, I sometimes wonder how people must feel in a situation of zero electricity. As for me I'd feel disconnected from the world as though a major part of me has been removed. I don't think I'd be able to bear it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me, I'm used to it tho. Before this typhoon Odette, we had the typhoon Yolanda, where we live for almost 2 months without electricity. At first, I felt way too, but as the days gone by, I adjusted myself to the situation. I know I am not the only whose struggling. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago