“You can fill your life with nice things, but nice things don't fill the holes in your soul.”

8 22
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Just today while I was in a posh shopping mall, I said to myself "Nice things aren't for me yet I own something that I call 'nice."

I can't afford to buy so many things. Yes, sometimes it hurts. I'm still not in that position where I don't feel the urge to buy or own luxury items. I have no shame approving, I do. But on the other hand, I know where my lines stop. Good thing is, I'm still able to see where I stand and I stand strong there.

There are so many things that I can call 'nice'. The house I live in, the mug I drink water with, my working desk, my peace corner; my clothes; the list is long. And if I talk about the non-materialistic then it would be much more. On the other side, the hole in our soul that races to buy more, to own more is unstoppable.

My father used to tell us, always look at your hands, lower our gaze; you will see there are many who would love to have your life yet you are complaining. Whenever I feel like I'm crossing a boundary that is not well suited to the lifestyle and morale I have; I back off.


img

I have seen people say like 'it's a poor choice'. Because only those who can't afford say all those bullsh*t morales and all. If we could afford we would not talk the same. Probably this is true from their POV but not for me, not for us.

I have seen my mom, who used to save, she never waste anything, not a grain of rice. She never throws away anything but repurposes or donations. My mom is more financially able than I am. She can afford to buy and own all the nice things she wants. But she chooses not to. It's not related to ability but more with a lifestyle and morale stand, a way of living.

She told me this wonderful quote today, “You can fill your life with nice things, but nice things don't fill the holes in your soul.”

We are always hungry, it's up to us what we feed ourselves. We can choose to fill our lives with all the nice things, all the materialistic choices. But there's no guarantee that the hols of our souls will be filled. But if we choose to work on other things in life that matter most then there's a high chance that will happen.

Our life is for each other. I'm for my family, for my friends, for my society, for the whole world. There are so many things that I can add, that anyone can add.

It's okay to not own any nice thing. We always have something within that we can call 'nice'. It's in our hands.


5
$ 0.28
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Gianna-B
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

That's true and I learned that money won't give you true happiness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good for you. That's the truth we don't try to understand.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agreed to the statement of you mother, “You can fill your life with nice things, but nice things don't fill the holes in your soul.” She conveyed an interesting and beautiful message in short and small sentence, only in few words she told you many things. Mom you are awesome

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She used to tell me this for long but it took me a while to understand the depth of her words. Thanks for your wonderful words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually most of the time we don't listen to our elders, they say everything from their experiences and we thing they're just elder

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truly, we should listen to them more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think your father is a very very good man.I father also told me that.I am glad to read your article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He sure was. Thanks for taking the time to read my writing. Have a good day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago