Trying to Revive my Dying Plants

8 30
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Today was a busy day for me. I have spent over an hour in my balcony garden. Tried my best to revitalize old potting soils, cut the infected plants, sort root rots, and so on.

A few days ago I have shared that my pumpkin and local spinach plants are dying. I found the reason behind it was waterlogging in the roots and the roots were rotting.

It's really hard to ensure the best health of plants on a small balcony. Fortunately, they get enough sunlight but maintaining them sometimes becomes especially because of the busy schedule. Also, I think it was not a clever idea to plant pumpkin and local spinach at this time of the year. They grow best during summer.

But as a plant lover, I couldn't pull them off but tried my best to give them a chance. Let me share the process I followed.

  • The first thing I did was sort the dying plants out. They became yellowish a long ago. It's better to pull them off.

  • Three pumpkins and all the spinach plants seemed like they have no hope left. When I pulled them I saw the roots were totally rotting.

  • Tried to revitalize the soils.

  • This time I pulled off all the plants from one side, weed the soil, added some blended eggshells and some water.

This is how they look now.

The top looks almost fine though, no?

This is my hope!

This pot is getting enough sunlight so from now on I promised myself to give them good care. This was my first attempt to grow pumpkin plants and I don't want to fail myself. Though I know it's hard to maintain bushy plants on a small balcony. But not impossible.

Moreover, you can see how this piece of green is the only good sight around here. In this concrete jungle, it sometimes feels hard to breathe. That's why I don't want to lose even a plant. This is my breathing space.

Let's be hopeful...


6
$ 1.34
$ 1.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.03 from @Cleophia2
+ 4
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I tried to plant tomatoes before but it did not work. I do not have a green thumb. The successful ones are just succulents because they are easy to grow. You just leave them haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also had some tomatoes before but they died. Yes, it takes a lot to take care of the plants and we need to have good knowledge about planting too. Maybe next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have done a great job of making a green balcony for yourself, it feels great, the process of maintaining and changing their soil is also very enjoyable. Green plants give spirit to our house... 💚🍃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, this small space is my breathing space. It gives me so much positive energy. Thanks :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you plant the pumpkin on a pot?I never tried to do that,pumpkin grows more when the solid is a good quality and fertilized.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have no other option but to plant them on pots. I have seen many who is growing pumpkins fine in pots, in balcony garden, or in rooftops. My plants got waterlogged because of the storm a few weeks back. Hope to do better next time. Thanks for the advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also planted a pumpkin before and i was very excited when it bear a flower as soon the flowers will turn to a beautiful fruit but unexpectedly the birds ate the flowers and when i woke up the next morning there's no more flowers, that's really left me a broken heart. I didn't expect that birds will ate pumpkin flowers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, birds love to eat soft flowers. I understand how you must feel. Don't worry, there's always the next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago