This city is not for us!

9 18
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

The feeling is bittersweet here in this city. No matter how much we say optimistic about it, the house reality will slap us hard in our faces at the same time.

I'm talking about Dhaka, the place where I've been living for over 15 years now. We who left our home started to search for a living here in this capital city shares kind of mixed feelings about it. But the common ground is, that we never call it home.

I sometimes wonder, why so? Why can't we call it home from our hearts even though we love this city?

Probably the answer lies in our lifestyle. We all do secretly cherish the dream to someday leave this concrete jungle and make our own home somewhere peaceful. Isn't it?

This city is not for us, for you and me who live penny by penny. It feels like a coop sometimes. I can't breathe, I don't know what's coming next.

More than 40% is going on the housing of our income, 30% on food. The equation is hard to balance. We don't know how we are meeting other costs. There's no future, I don't know what will happen if we can't afford it anymore if something happens to us.

Sould we call this a life?

Just Yesterday I was in Uttara, which is a suburb and around 25km away from my living area. I took an auto rickshaw and guess what? It took me more than 3 hours to come back home, to drive through the traffic, to cross just 25 km. It was frustrating, disgusting, and awful. I had to pay more than double the rent of the autorickshaw. Thousands like me were in the same traffic. I was thinking all this while sitting in the coop-like vehicle.

Yes, we are in a coop. Yes, this is not how life should be. Yes, I feel horrid living here. Yes, I don't have any other option right now. And yes, this city is sure not for us. I can't afford it anymore...


6
$ 1.15
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @foryoubtc09
$ 0.01 from @Adrielle1214
+ 2
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Living in the city is not mine either. I hope you'll find a good-paying job that is no in the city. Im glad my boss made a feemill plant outside the city proper which is nearer my work place. I hat the traffic too! And of course the heat. I love it in the mountains where fresh air os free and lovely scenes are the most common.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's cool. I wish I could choose that over this life. But both of our jobs are here and we can't move out right now. We have a plan through to settle in the countryside someday. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

City life is not for me either. My husband and i used to live in the city but we both felt like that it"s not a healthy environment to raise a child so we went back to our hometown to live a simple life, and here we find peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's great. I wish I could do that too. But our career is here and it's tough to find other kinds of job in countryside. Also, everything is too centralized here so living the capital means we will be out of many opportunities (which I can compromise). But our job is here, that's the biggest issue for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe since you experience those hardship its time to make decision about the living status

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have to live here for our career, our son's education and all. Though we both have our own house at hometown but shifting there is not possible at this moment. We are saving up a little for our future. Thanks for your advice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even me my friend. If someone ask me if where I want to live, I will find a place that is peaceful. I hate noises and crowded. The best option is countryside.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish I could move back to country7, where our parents live. Unfortunately, that's not possible at this moment. Maybe some day...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes someday my friend. You can live there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago