Perfectionism is not taking me anywhere, it's not making me better!

6 18
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

I was always being very organized as a person. I never get late at anything, I always try to keep promises, and most importantly I maintain my space very ordered.

All these may sound amazing but believe me, it's not!

Why?

Because there should be a borderline in perfectionism. Otherwise, this one thing is enough to make our life more stressful.


img

The thing is, it's really really hard to get rid of this characteristic. It's like a continuous loop that leads to another act. Like when I start to clean my room, I sometimes spend more than an hour doing unnecessary/less important things at that moment like organizing my closet. Also, it makes me feel insane if I get to see dirt/misplaced things here and there.

This one thing is making our family relationships decay day by day.

But I get to realize that perfectionism is not taking me anywhere, it's not making me better.

Yes, it still feels good to see a very organized place, my laptop files, or anything. But on the other hand, I spend a huge amount of time doing things that don't matter much. I feel really worse when I don't give time to my son as much as he need rather spend hours organizing his room, toys, and book!

I'm enrolled in an online free course where they are proving tips and reading resources to help people like me to get rid of perfectionism. I came to realize that we must understand, how much it's impacting our lives in a negative way. We have to start believing that it's not making things better. Rather we should keep some borderline like how much organized we can. It may take a while but this is achievable.

My suggestion would be if you feel like perfectionism is taking away your valuable time then look up if you have an obsessive-compulsive personality disorder. It's characterized by orderliness, perfectionism, and excessive devotion to work to the point that individuals exclude hobbies and friendships. Understanding this is very necessary to change ourselves.

I wouldn't say, I achieved the point where I can stay calm seeing disorganized things. But I'm trying to keep the borderline so my perfectionism mentality could be more manageable.

3
$ 1.28
$ 1.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Irene1
$ 0.01 from @DanLawan
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

We can't be perfect no matter how much we try, so it is better not to waste our time try to be perfect insted we need to give our attention to our loved ones and our dreams. Thank you sis for believing on me☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what I came to realize. It's my pleasure to support as many as I can. Stay happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should also spend your time with the children so that they can feel the love of the mother. Why doesn't perfectionism benefit you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I said, it's taking away the time I could be productive in other ways rather organizing everything. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then you should try to benefit yourself in other ways. You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that's what I'm trying to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago