Is this okay to celebrate your wedding anniversary at home?

6 41
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Blog, Experiences, Story, ...

What is it to lead a happy and successful marriage? I often search for the answers, especially when I hit a tough rock. I believe we should do whatever works best for both of you and the family as a whole.

And the same goes for the wedding anniversary!


Source-Made by Canva.


Yes, I said what I need to say. You don't have to follow the traditional anniversary celebration or even if you do, it doesn't necessarily mean you have to feel the pressure to do so every single year.

It's totally fine to celebrate it the way both of you feel.

I would give my advice later. Before that, let me tell you what we usually do during our wedding anniversary.


I'm happily married for 8 years, and it's going to be 9 next June. The date is the middle of the summer so we usually don't go for a long vacation but at the end of the year.

Both of us follow a busy schedule. My husband is very caring but doesn't feel the comfortable showcasing romance that much. I understand him and I don't expect to get a bunch of flowers, candlelight dinner at a fancy restaurant, or spend time in the jacuzzi either.

Rather I and I would say both of us feel much more comfortable celebrating the day at home.


Every year I cook something special for the day, usually, we bring a cake to celebrate. We both exchange a small gift, not necessarily during the very day, and we spend our time at home, after the office if that's a weekday. We never had any party, invite guests, or did anything extraordinary for that day.

No big celebration, no outing, no surprise party; nothing.

And it works for us.


Source

As an introvert, I feel much more comfortable that way. Also, after becoming parents we feel like it's better to have our son beside us during the special day rather than leaving him with the sitter.

During these whole 8 years, there's no bad anniversary in my memory. We didn't argue around the big day; two times dine out in an expensive restaurant, one time went on a vacation, one time he surprised me with an expensive gift and another time I gave him an expensive watch. That's all the highlights. The other times, we had a very casual day at home, had dinner together, talk and joke about our marriage.

The most important thing is we spend quality time together and celebrate our love and commitment to each other in a very relaxed way.


So that's how my wedding anniversaries usually went by.

Now if you are newly married and feel to do something extraordinary, then go for it. But if casually spending the day works for you then Don't Question Your Marriage. It is perfectly okay to celebrate a wedding anniversary at home.

But it is also true that I would love to explore some more ideas to make the day a little more special. I'm looking forward to reading posts on this contest to share experiences and ideas.

See you around.

5
$ 0.12
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @Readerbaby
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Blog, Experiences, Story, ...

Comments

Having a big party isn't bad but I prefer spending time with my spouse alone in a quiet place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, that's not bad. But as introvert I too prefer celebrating at home.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think there's anything wrong with celebrating the wedding anniversary at home.... All that matters is that you're happy with the decision and same as your partner

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sure, I strongly believe so. Thanks for agreeing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, it is not importamt to make it expensive or glamorous. As long as the couple are happy and doing great in their relationship then its fine.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's exactly my thoughts are. Thanks for agreeing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago