Garden update: Some new addition to my balcony garden with hope!

7 28
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

The title would be about 'winter preparation' but I have no guilt approving that I was being lazy taking care of the garden for the last couple of weeks. There were guests in my house, my son was sick, and so on. When I finally got some time to take a look at my balcony garden, it upsets me.

I know I can turn this and plant something new but what is gone will always be remembered.

Moving on...

I was hoping to see the bottle gourd plant so passionately that I planted it 2 weeks ago! In the upcoming winter that would be a great addition to my balcony. But alas! It died because of the recent rainstorm, probably it was waterlogged I couldn't check on.


To make myself feel good and give a little hope I decided to plant some papaya seeds and some cucumber as well. Although I know that it was not a good time but I couldn't resist. My mom gave me some seeds as a gift. What a thoughtful present, no?


Preparation for planting Culantro

Moreover, there were some leftover Culantro (an alternative herb for cilantro). Before throwing them away I thought why don't I just plant them in a pot? As I was not very present in my garden so a few other plants died over time and I got a few empty pots. I planted the Culantro there a few days ago. They are growing so well till now, I'm hopeful.


Papaya plants after a week

And look at the papaya plants! I will separate the best one in another pot in a few days.



Butterfly pea flower, planted a month ago, growing pretty well.


Moss rose/purslane

Finally, these moss roses! They are the best thing on my balcony. I got five of them; yellow, magenta, white, red, and orange. They bloom almost every single day and bring pure joy to my peaceful corner.

There is a lot to do in the upcoming days. I have to add nutrition to my soil, have to clean the pots as well as the balcony. Winter is coming, I need to prepare my balcony garden. Hopefully will make some time and will do that gradually next couple of weeks.

Have a good day, everyone.

2
$ 0.40
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @grey23espartinas
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Don't neglect the garden. Plants, like us humans, need attention and love. i like yourthe garden

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agreed, they are like pets, need a lot of nurture. I try my best to take care of them. Thanks :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very nice 😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just remember my mom reading your article. She's a plant lover too and and she will be devastated too if she could see her garden now. I don't have the green thumb like her and i was not able to tend and take care of her garden since she was gone for good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow you are a plantita my friend. I love your plants, flowers. Planting makes us happy also and make us enjoyed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great. They are really beautiful. And I agree, flowers are enough to make us happy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend that's flowers give us happiness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago