Apparently, I'm not my son's favorite Parent! And, I'm okay with it.

20 26
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

My son is not a mamma's boy from the very beginning. Not even when I was his primary source of food.

But that's okay. It doesn't bother me at all. Because seeing his relationship with his Dad make me feel proud than anything. Whenever some say this to me, like aww...you are not his favorite parent! I always say mom is something else, we got a relation with our child that doesn't need to build rather it's already something we have before we give birth to them.

Maybe my son is not too attached to me now, at this age but gradually he will. I'm proud that I made the room for his dad to make a quality attachment with his son.

He made this piece of art seeing the cover of his coloring book. When I asked him, where's mom? He felt a little embarrassed and draw me beside him. Quote โ€” unquote, I never make him feel guilty for preferring his dad on everything.

Let me give you some examples of what I'm talking about.

My son and husband eat together, my son usually waits for his Dad but never for me if it's his favorite snack. He usually asks his dad to help him in the washroom, he sometimes co-sleep with his dad. And always keeps aside some of his snacks every single day for his dad to enjoy after coming back from the office. But usually never do these things for me.

As I have said earlier, all these never make me feel bad or anything. I find this more helpful to build a healthy father-son relationship. I see our relationship is something that doesn't need recognition because my son is already a part of me.

In my country, it's still a stigma to be actively involved in parenting for a dad. In most households, they don't help in feeding or cleaning the baby. From the very beginning, I made sure my husband do that. And it will never be possible without his willingness. I believe, what he learned and felt from raising his baby boy helps both of them to understand each other better, to build a read good attachment.

I'm not in the race to be the favorite parent and I will never be. Seeing them giggle together, play and spend quality time make my heart full.

10
$ 2.81
$ 2.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 6
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It is quite refreshing to hear of anecdotes that children are closer to their fathers than their mothers, who are the primary caregivers at home. I always wonder why most Dads think it is not part of their role as a parent to form a bond with the kids, opting to mostly provide for their family's needs, when emotional needs are just as important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the way I feel too. Mother also should create the room to build a better connection between dad and the child. It pays off in so many ways. Thanks for your wonderful words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love the way you took, he is still your son and thereโ€™s no how he doesnโ€™t love you.. maybe he is just too clingy with dad.. you will see that love do change, one way of getting kids.. shower him with love and attentions and you see him all around you.. take care dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thing is, I don't what him to be clingy around me. I kinda hate annoying kid. It's it's an advanced for me ๐Ÿ˜… I know over the time things will change. Thanks for your advice โ˜บ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My eldest is attached to me, I feel pity for his dad to do everything just to please him, but nothing changes. But whenever I'm not around he doesn't have a choice but to let his father do his requests, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kids have their own logic. Good to know your experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mother will always be a mother even if how the arrangement of your life goes on,your irreplaceable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what I also believe. That's why never bother seeing their attachment ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It doesn't sound like that to me, maybe he just really missed his father that all. Because you were the one that he seen Everytime he now looked for someone that doesn't. Yeah that's not bad thing anyways. ๐Ÿฅฐ Maybe the next kid will be the momma's kid hahaha what you think? ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He gets bored by seeing me all the time. Also, I'm the one who discipline him, so no reason to like me. lol I wish so about the next kid ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think our son love us both, it only happen that I'm always with him and i let him do anything that he wants so he always run after me., He always look for me every time he wants to play because his Papa don't accompany him. ๐Ÿ˜…. Anyway your son still love you, you may be his not favourite but his still love you as his mom

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My case is totally opposite. I'm the one who discipline him and his dad usually plays with him. So what my son is doing is totally normal. I love that he doesn't bother me much but wait for his dad. Thanks for sharing your words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know your son loves you too friend. I have a someone I've known similar to this. Her daughter is always having a time to her dad. He always play with her dad but she loves also her mom. It's her routine that she always playing with her dad that's why she always having a time with him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know he loves me. And I love that he doesn't prefer me for everything. It's more important to build good relationship with dad, coz mom's one comes naturally. Thanks for sharing your words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes friend indeed. You're always welcome my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

However , he loves you unconditionally though he does not show it to you we know that was being loved by our kids to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I know that. I'm the one who discipline him so he doesn't feel comfortable to show his love rather act like a good boy. lol Over the time it would change. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My baby is Mamas girl, she can't live without me on her side

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ’šโค๏ธ๐Ÿ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago