A long-lost friend.

9 54
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

I didn't meet her for over 5 years now. We had a serious conflict about our ethical standards and we both decided that it's better we choose our own path.

Yes, I still call her 'friend' but we don't talk anymore!

img

All my university years were well spent with her, we were very good friends. We used to live in the same dormitory at university but in separate rooms though. You can guess how much time we used to spend together. There was nothing we didn't know about each other, there was nothing we would keep secret.

But things happen, you know. We sometimes choose the wrong path, we do unethical things.

She kept what she did secret but I got to know about that from others. It broke my heart knowing she did that. She used to be a different person from me. I realized that it can happen, people change and so as their values...

We had a huge argument over the situation. She accepted her deed but surprisingly, she didn't accept it as a mistake. That was a breaking point for me. I know I shouldn't call her names but I was mad. I know I should listen to her side as well but I was mad.

And so she decided to end our friendship!!

When I realized my mistakes I tried to catch up with her though in my heart I was feeling like she shouldn't take the path in the first place. Unfortunately, she decided to end it right there. Since then we don't talk anymore, we don't see each other anymore.

After a few years, I came to know that now she approves that she was wrong. But we didn't get back. I don't know if we ever would be able to because I wouldn't feel comfortable around her anymore.

Why I'm sharing all this?

I came to realize that people change. They can be good at one point, bad at the other, and probably good again. We should be open towards them, and guide them as much as we can. On the other hand, it's also okay to cut off if you think you can't keep up. Because in adult life it's pretty common to not match each other. It will hurt but it's not the end of the world. Try to find out if you were the AH. If not then you have nothing to do with the other person's decision.

On top of everything, it's okay to lose someone you used to call a friend. Move on.

Thing happens, be strong with what you believe in, choose the right path...the rest is not in your hands.


6
$ 0.72
$ 0.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.02 from @Gianna-B
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Some will just pass by and some will stay for a while to leave a mark in our life and some will stay for a lifetime . The one who'll accept us for who we are . The one who will help us to polish our flaws and the one who sees good in us despite that flaws.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was surely not the one who accept the flaws in this case. Yes, I can accept as long as I think it's ethical. You know, what I'm saying. I agree with you, some just leave a mark, that's it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People come and go in our life, and those who only see our true value will be the one who's gonna stay. Maybe she's really not a real friend for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She is a good human but she made a huge mistake. Maybe she was not a good person as a friend or I don't know. It still hurts me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true my friend. Sometimes people change. They can be good but after year or years you will be shock because they change into another one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's what I have noticed. It still hurts me thinking about it. But I have nothing to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend. Me too my friend because we didn't expect it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly, this life come from different directions. It is better to go separate that to be life enemies. We will miss but not regret

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You said it very correct. It's better to be separated than hating each other. Thanks for the words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago