Why not Acrostic? The Musical!

16 39
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

I'm not a prolific writer, never have been. I always find trouble finding the right words whenever I start to write an article or, for example, an essay back in college. And don't get me wrong, I might have the idea in my head, and it might be something I read or might as well be something from my very own imagination, but when it comes the time to put it in writing, I block.

From Unsplash

Nevertheless, I'm not a quitter, and I try to power through. That's what happened with today's article.

Twelve days ago my friend @CoquiCoin published the article Never say no to challenge your writing, and when I read it I was very curious as to the way she wrote it.

In the end, she explained that she got the idea from @McJulez article Why Not Acrostic and I was blown away, and immediately I decided I would do it myself.

Well, easy said than done, because of what I said at the beginning, I'm not very good when it come to put my thoughts into writing, but finally, I got it! And decided to do a musical version of it, with some of my favorite songs of all time.

Here it is!

What a wonderful world, a song made famous by Louis Armstrong, speaks about how beautiful life is no matter how bad things are in the world. It reminds me that even in our darkest hour, the sun still shines, the birds still sing, and so we can shine and sing again.

Hello by Adele, wow, I felt her pain in those lyrics. I believe she speaks about the regret we get from bad decision-making, and when we realised it's too late to go back and make things better.

Yesterday Once More by The Carpenters. That song always makes me smile, and it's true:

All my best memories

Come back clearly to me

Some can even make me cry.

Just like before

It's yesterday once more.

https://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/carpenters/yesterdayoncemore.html


No by Shakira. Of course that I don't listen to only English songs, this is an example of it. Just listen, even if you don't understand it.

One More Time by Daft Punk. Fun Fun Fun.

This is the tipe of song that gets you off your feet almost everytime, although you must be careful, one time I fell on the shower singing and dancing to it.

Take a Chance on me by ABBA. What's not to like? Listen how they make the harmony with just their voices. Amazing!


All my Loving by The Beatles. I didn't know this one until my dad bought a CD with almost every song on the record. This was one of my favorites because not just the lyrics, so full of love, the music and the key tone of the song is so vibrant, and also I can sing the different voices with my sister.

Carry on my wayward son by Kansas. I love this song!

I first knew it from the Tv Series Supernatural, the story of two boys who began a quest to find their father and battle with demons and all supernatural entities you can think of. The choosing of this song for this particular show it's spot on due to the complexity of the emotional toll the quest has on the life of their characters. It's just amazing.

Rosanna by Toto. There's no particular reason why I like this song so much, I just have fun hearing it, singing it, dancing to it.

On My Own by Herbert KretzmerAlain Boublil & Claude-Michel Schönberg for the musical Les Miserables. Such a powerful song with such a powerful meaning, open to every one of us because the man the singer speaks of is never mentioned, so, those who have felt the pain of unrequited love, this is the song for you.

Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) by Eurythmics. Again, simple but powerful song about the quest we all have for fulfillment and a feeling of accomplishment, about how the world's dynamic of hunter and prey determines if the dreams we have will ever be fulfilled.

Torn by Natalie Imbruglia, oh my teenage years.

I had a Cd with a mix of all the songs I sang we I had heartbreak and this was on it. Just because something looks heaven send doesn't mean it is; we often tend to idealize people or situations and by the time we see our mistake is too late, and that's what this song means, to my view of course.

Ironic by Alanis Morrisette, again my teenage years. This song makes me smile also, so true all that it says. When I first heard it I didn't understand English one bit but I liked it because it's upbeat. When I understood what it says wow, it became an all-time favorite for me.

Crawling by Linkin Park. This is also a powerful song and it speaks of the demons we all have inside and how they behave when they manifest. I'm my hours of despair and depression, I often use this song to lash it all out through singing. And the lyrics came from a person who himself battled for a long time with depression and ultimately, depression won.



Maybe I finished a little blue but, not all songs are pretty and funky, and not all speak of love, some have powerful messages to convey if we just listen carefully and seek the meaning of it.

From Unsplash

Well, this is my entry to this challenge, even if it's a little too late.

Overall I think I did fine and most of all, I had fun!

Thanks again to @McJulez for coming up with this idea, I really had a wonderful time doing this! (sorry for the tag)


As always, check out my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty

See you next time!

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

Saturday, October 23, 2021.

5
$ 3.03
$ 2.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Belozoriana
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 3
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

Hey. Don't sell yourself short. You accomplished the goal. Bravo zulu to you. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks! I have confidence issues haha bear with me!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really liked your acrostic, of course I don't follow all those songs, but it's very nice how you used the terminology with the songs, I guess these challenges are permanent, so at some point I'll do one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was hard! I've never spent that much time writing an article, but I like a challenge haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a wonderful world is one of my favs of all time! I love Ramones punk version ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't heard it yet, I'll look for it ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read in one breath! I can tell you one thing, do not think too much about your problems, they all can be solved, if only we want! I'm not a strong believer, but I know that in the Bible says that God gives us as many tests, as we can stand. Smile more often, it suits you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true, the sn always comes out to bright our days, is something to look forward to.

Haha so I've been told. I love laughing, but I don't like my smile very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not familiar with the songs, but thanks for the recommendations. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for challenging us like this haha it was troublesome but I hope you like it ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just knew two songs in what you have mentioned, Hello and on my own. This own my own song was sung by my English teacher when I was in high school and from then, I get addicted with that song.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the songs I listed are oldies like me haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, really? Btw, how old are you by now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha 35 going on 36 next month

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? I thought you're just in your mid-twenties. Your face in your profile is younger than your age

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, you flatter me haha that one is from last year xD

$ 0.00
2 years ago