Scammer Alert!!

16 40
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Hello All!

This will be a short article because I don't feel well and this is more of a "blowing off some steam" than an actual article.

Some context...

I'm on Hive, I have been there since May this year, and with it I started my blogging journey and learning about crypto and stuff. Through Hive I found #read.cash, and I liked it better than Hive, so much that I stopped posting over there.

Well, that's a bit of an overstatement, I didn't stopped, I just became less frequent on that site and only logged in to give some upvotes and get passive income.

I posted some food stuff but it didn't get me much, and since I don't understand really well how it works, and read is much better, I didn't paid more attention than I had to.

That all changed maybe a month ago when I became inspired by some users here who are rocking it on Hive, and that gave me motivation to try it again.

I try to post once a week, sometimes it goes well, others, not so much, but I'm keeping a steady HP which is good, especially when the HIVE TOKEN price has reached its peak.

So today, I logged in to check my rewards and to post something I've been wanting to post for a long time, the National Natural Monument Aristides Rojas, located in my home town, the most beautiful mountain ever.

I did it through Ecency which I like because it gives you ecency points that you can use to boost or promote your content or whomever you want to, and you can also gift them to other users.

Anyways, I remembered that I had received some tokens as a gift and wanted to check how they were doing, given that Hive prices went up. I found that I had LOH (Ladies of Hive Token) 5 of them, and they are worth about 8$ in total.

Awesome!

If I can exchange them for Hive and the Hive price goes up, maybe I can get some cash out of it to buy some stuff I need. I logged in to Hive Engine and I tried the swap but I got logged out and couldn't get back in. So I contacted them through their Discord server and asked for help.

Later I got a message from a guy saying that the Moderators of the H.E server assigned him to help me. At first, I didn't smell anything funky and explained what had happened. He then told me that I had to sink my Hive Engine account with a wallet and send me a link with a list of wallets to choose from, including Metamask which is the only one I have.

He started to ask me all sorts of questions about my login if it was manually or auto, I said manually and then asked how to sink them because my Meta wallet is set up with Smart BCH. He didn't answer that and I started to feel funny. I didn't understand his instructions and I had a feeling that something was wrong.

Then, I decided to reboot my desktop, a very old desktop, and see if this time the Hive Engine server allowed me to log in fine, and it did, in fact, I placed the order to exchange LOH for HIVE, a piece of cake!

When I got back to Discord I had a message from the dude asking if I did all that he told me, which I replied that there was no need, that I fixed it myself and it was a combination of poor internet connection and an old desktop computer. He went berserk and said that that wasn't the problem, that the only way I had was to do as he said, and that I had no choice. I blocked him.

Maybe I'm exaggerating, but I feel that something was off about that dude, I mean, if he was sent to help me, and I told him that I fixed the problem myself, wouldn't he be happy?.

Or at least satisfied that the case resolved positively, and he can get back to his work as usual. Why did he get worked up like that and demand for me to do as he said even if the problem was no longer a problem?

I think I avoided a curveball, what do you think?



Check out my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty


This is 100% Original Content.

The images are from Unsplash and provided by this site, except for the one of the mountain. That one is mine.



See you next time!

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

December 4th, 2021.

8
$ 7.53
$ 7.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @BCH_LOVER
$ 0.05 from @Belozoriana
+ 2
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

I found hundreds if not thousand+ comments in the "about" read.cash article, who reported that the platform auto-marked their accounts as "spam," and they wrote several times to the helpdesk email to receive "no response" ... I regret knowing about these dot-cash platforms. It took away my costly 50+ hours for less than $2. Anyway, this comment will also be auto-flagged!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm sorry this is happening to you, I whish I could help you :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cuando comencé a publicar en Hive y me inscribí en uno de los servidores de Discord, un tipo se puso en contacto conmigo y me saludó como si me conociera. Le dije que era la persona equivocada y cruzamos algunos mensajes hasta que me ofreció ayuda, trató de decirme que era un experto en HTML y Mark down que podía ayudarme para mejorar mis publicaciones, pero que si tenía dudas sobre el manejo de mi wallet el haría lo posible por ayudarme también, aunque no era experto. Mis alarmas se prendieron enseguida. Le dije que yo sabía html y que no necesitaba ayuda y no le respondí mas. En los servidores de discord siempre hay mensajes de advertencia sobre personas que intentan obtener tus keys, por lo que hay que estar alerta.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Imagínate, gracias a Dios nunca me había pasado hasta ahora, y naguara, no entiendo por que hay gente que busca aprovecharse de la ignorancia, en mi caso, o de los problemas de otros. Gracias a Dios que el mismo se delató jaja aunque igual no le hubiese dado ninguna información.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did the right thing by blocking him. His response sounds fishy. If he wanted to help you, he wouldn't ask something like that. He seems he is after your wallets and other information

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I thought that, it was too intense asking for me to do as he said, I mean, chill out dude. He was after something so, blocked it is 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the easiest thing to do with those dudes who wanted to have easy money

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you just got saved some heartbreak. If he had a problem even after you had resolved it, he must have been a fraud

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The last message he send me said: "I was sent to help you, do as I say" not even my mom talks to me like that haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really stupid of him. He must haVe thought you to be a fool

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Scammers try to provoke strong emotions in you - to frighten or make you happy. This way they confuse and dull the vigilance of the potential victim. You were right to block him.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I've been there so, I'm cautious with the tone of the message writen, and his insistence was too suspicious for me. Blocked!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You avoided a snowball. But you had to do something, copy their data and put it out in the open in the networks. Remember never to give out your account information, no serious website will ask you for it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No way, I won't do that haha not even with a friend I do that, I already got scammed once and I promised myself that it won't happen again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hmm that sounds fishy Rebeca, you did the right thing!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That happened when I was talking to you so I decided to write about it haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago