Food Journal: Summer in a bowl.

18 37
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Some of the best moments in life come from simple random acts of kindness, won't you agree?

A stranger sharing a helping hand and a smile, or giving you his seat on the subway, or neighborly bonds that form over the years without too much work, or even nature with all its wonders.

Well, from those things can come out wonderful ideas, wonderful moments, and wonderful dishes as well.

From Unsplash

This year, like every year, we had Mango Season. All the mango trees available in the area were blossoming and bearing big and tasty fruit and, as always, everyone got their fair share.

It always comes at the beginning of summer, so it's easy to see those who have trees at home, picking the fruit and eating it under the shade the tree gives as a shelter from the scorching sun. But, to tell you the truth, as always, I'm not very fond of mangos, not my thing.

Avocado, that's my kind of thing and we so happen to have a tree at home, and this year was the first harvest also.

Big, huh?

One day, a neighbor brought to our house a big bag of mangos from his yard. I'm not kidding when I say there were at least 40 mangos in that bag, and we are 3 people from which one doesn't like them very much.

So, we washed them and share them with the rest of the neighbors as well as saved some from ourselves, because that same day, I picked the first avocados from our tree and thought: I'll make a salad.

A salad, a Mango-Avocado salad. It's common in this part of the world but not that common in Venezuela, don't ask me why.

It's true though, I haven't met one single person that doesn't look at me like I'm crazy when I say Mango and Avocado Salad. What's not to like?

Magic is about to happen

The buttery and silky texture of the avocado, and its very neutral taste, binds perfectly with the sweet and a bit sour flavor of the mango, plus, onions, tomatoes, and especially coriander, give that ultimate touch to a very refreshing dish, and also very nutritious, from all the vitamins and healthy fats both fruits have.

In addition, the coriander we use also comes from our yard. Wild coriander, long coriander, Myanmar coriander, it has many names, but the fact is that grows in our soil every year without planting it or anything, and it has a special place on our table.

I love that shade of green.

That day, I made a decent bowl of salad and we paired it with chicken. I like it better with steak but, we didn't have that in our fridge nor the money to buy some. Later on, mom asked me to make some more for dinner, and she ate that with cassava bread, and I took the opportunity to make it somewhat special and serve it in a wine glass, like a cocktail.

We laughed and sat with our cups of salad and enjoyed our healthy but tasty dinner, giving thanks to God for his kindness and his blessings.

If you liked this, check ou my recipe Here!

Last but not least, a big sheer of welcome to @ArteFM who has recently joined us here on Read.Cash!

Also check out my wonderlful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty

PS: All pictures are mine except the first one, and the source is stated.


See you next time!

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

Friday, October 22, 2021.

9
$ 3.90
$ 3.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
+ 1
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

This would not be a salad for me, mainly because I do not like mangoes. But I sure in the heck cannot knock the idea behind it. Bravo zulu! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha it's not for everybody for sure, but is the best way I found to eat mango, especially when they're in season ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love mango and avocado, but I never imagined making a mango-avocado salad.

I find the idea of making a recipe with onions, tomato, avocado and mango together weird. I prefer to eat mango on its own. I have an uncle who makes a delicious mango jelly. We usually serve it with bread.

When I have mango and avocado I will prepare your recipe.

Finally, thank you very much for your kind welcome, I will be very attentive to your publications.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yes, it's kinda weird, but the taste is good, a little bit exotic though.

No need to thank me, I read your presentation and I think you are very talented and a good addition to the community.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you again. When I can I will make this exotic recipe hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, of course they come, but these "foreign" fruits are expensive. For us it is a luxury, if I take it, then only for holidays. I love pamelo! I really like your articles, I think I will continue to read them👋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand, it's sad though, it's like me not been able to get apples or pears :(

Thank you! I hope to keep up with you all <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very good presentation, I have not tried this salad, I will have to wait again for the mango season, it is very close.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Frank! Yes, we have to wait for the season to come, in the supermarkets sell the mango way too expensive!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Очень аппетитно выглядит,но у нас этот фрукт не растёт.Должна сказать что вы большая умница👏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!! Not even imported? That's sad :( But you got many yummy things to eat!! I have always wanted to try and make some Ptichie molokó or Medovik! Maybe some day I'll dare lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is one yummy food! Here in the Philippines too, avocado and mango are abundant! This is also great when you are in a diet.🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! Who said that diets should be boring? haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Completely agree! i do not want to eat boiled chicken that is unseasoned for a whole month haha! It should be yummy and healthy! Food is life!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely vegetables and must be delicious and vitamin-rich. Yes, random acts of kindness can create beautiful moments in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really is as nutricious as it is delicious ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow There are plenty foods in this life So there is Mango- Avocado Salad How does it taste please?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest I wouldn't know how to describe it, maybe exotic is the best word I can think off lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago