Contemplating in the Rain

2 46
Avatar for radenkusumo
2 years ago

Author: Raden Kusumo
Genre: Fiction

That morning the sky was very cloudy, it looked like it was going to rain. We as a family rushed to finish breakfast at the dining table.

"Hurry up, Bejo, you'll get rained on," said my mother as she poured her drinking water into a glass.

I don't like being told to rush. My father, who had just finished eating, went straight to the terrace of the house and immediately started the motorbike to go to work. I don't want to rush, let it rain, but my mother told me to finish my breakfast quickly and go straight to school.

I am different from my parents. They are always disciplined and stick to routines, whereas I'm not like that. On the way to school, it was raining very hard, I took shelter in a shop that was still closed, because the shop opened at 09.00, while now it is still at 07.15.

When it rained heavily this morning, I lit a cigarette that I hid in the pocket of my school uniform. In the first puff of smoke, two questions popped up in my head.

"Why don't people wait for the rain to stop to go to school and work?"

"Why do people feel comfortable waiting for a long time waiting for the rain to stop to go home?"

TWOAR.!

"Damn it! I was shocked,"

The sound of thunder booming sounded like the atomic bombs being detonated on Hiroshima and Nagasaki

I took another puff of the burning cigarette in my hand and pondered the question again. "How come, people are willing to pursue the time that has been set by their authority even though it rains, lightning, storms, and earthquakes, but they can delay a long time, even though their loved ones are waiting anxiously at home,"

Humans who are essentially born free and independent, are happy and willing to choose to bind themselves with discomfort in the diorama of authority, to ignore love, willingness, and togetherness in the warmth and intimacy of family.

The rain had stopped, I went back to school late, even though I was punished by the teacher but I didn't care.

The lead image source by Unsplash

===============================================================

Thank you for reading, Introducing, My name is Raden Kusumo. I am 16 years old, in December, I will be 17 years old. I come from Gunung Kidul district, Jogjakarta province, Indonesia. I am still in my final year of high school. Besides going to school, my activities are looking for grass for my father's livestock feed. I like writing short stories and poetry. Sometimes I write song lyrics requested by some bands in my village. Greetings from me.

3
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @Luna1999
Avatar for radenkusumo
2 years ago

Comments

nice story bro. i like this short story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago