The long and short of it

5 23
Avatar for onlymythoughts
2 years ago

I love cryptocurrency and am often thinking of new ways to try and earn a little. I am trying to stack up satoshis now while blockchain technology is still in its early days.

I was reading this week about earning a little from 'link shorteners.' I read some reviews about them and they sounded great.

If you have a blog or youtube channel you can use these tools to shorten links which you might post on your page and each time someone clicks on them you get paid, whats not to like about that?

Well quite a lot actually! These link shorteners make their money by displaying adverts before redirecting you to the intended page and often require you to complete a captcha as well which is very annoying.

Earning money from shortening links will annoy your followers

The ads they display are often spammy and you might need to click on 2 or 3 before you reach your destination page.

I tried out a few different ones to test them and they are all the same, really I think they are best to avoid.

Think about it you write a great article or have a great youtube channel, you post one of these shortlinks and when people click on them how does that reflect on you as a content creator?

Also many of these link shorteners require you to achieve 1000 clicks before you have enough to withdraw your earnings. That takes some doing!

You may read a lot online about them being a great way to earn some passive income but I think that really they are a big waste of time.

If you want to tidy up your long url without imposing ads on your audience there are a few free link shorteners that are available.

The best one I could find is called 'urlday' and it does exactly what it says on the tin. It shortens your long url's and makes them look pretty and also is completly ad free.

I have given up thinking about earning money by shortening links. But instead am just happy to shorten links for free.

If you want to keep your audience loyal then best not to bombard them with spammy ads.

If you are interested in 'urlday' I have pasted a link below.

https://www.urlday.com/

Thank you for reading my article, this is all my own work.

Pictures courtesy of Pixabay

3
$ 1.73
$ 1.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 1
Sponsors of onlymythoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for onlymythoughts
2 years ago

Comments

I find those that show you spam ads annoying. And more if you need to solve a captcha. It's better if you need to use them, a free shortener. You won't gain "money", but also you won't lose readers.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the thing exactly, I have learnt by experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I often use bit.ly to shorten my links :) and yes, it is so thoughtful of you to think about the consequence of bombarding your readers or viewers with spammy ads when using link shorteners that do so :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes I thought they seemed like a good idea, but my experience when testing them was awful. No one likes spammy ads.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true for sure :) Enjoy your day :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago