This Is Nigeria.

2 5
Avatar for olawalium
3 years ago
Topics: Poetry, Poem, Writing, Blog, Nigeria, ...

Image Source.​​​


This is Nigeria, most people want an escape

Either way, it comes, even if it is in a tape

Everyone wants to be that hero in a cape

Our dignity every time they openly rape

Leaving us to hang out dry, utterly out of shape

They hoard palliative, even ordinary grape

Are others lesser human than them? Perhaps ape?

They are playing us a movie script on videotape

We are even watching a rerun on a landscape

It's funny how less they think of us

Zero regards for human lives

Labour of heroes past lost in transit

They are not about leaving any legacy

Nation building they say, such fallacy


This Post First Appeared Here.​​​


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love's chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor's order.

1
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

I cannot imagine living in this situation. I do not wish to live in one either but I hope that someday, a solution will come.

As I said in my previous comment, I would prefer to have a poem that is not entirely written in bold.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really hope the situation changes too. We are keeping up that hope and holding on for it.

Cool. That's your personal preference. Poetry can come in different forms.

$ 0.00
3 years ago