Christmas Reading List

5 24
Avatar for mypathtofire
1 year ago

Some of my earliest Christmas reading that I can remember involved reading diligently the Argos Catalogue and choosing which toys that I wanted for Christmas. The catalog covered also other household items like TVs, stereos, and lots of other items, so I didn't confine myself to just the toy section. If you are choosing new toys, you may as well also get a new HiFi Stereo too.

As a child and young person, I wasn't into books or reading. Even as an adult I didn't have the interest to sit and read. I found reading particularly boring and especially fiction books very difficult to read.

Fast forward to today, however, with the holiday period approaching, I like to buy a few books to read in this time as with some time off work over Christmas and the New Year, I will have time to sit and read for a few hours.

Three books that I am reading over the next two months are Four Thousand Weeks, Hamlet's Mill, and Between The World And Me. They are three different types of books, but I hope they will be interesting.

Some of my favorite subjects to read are some of the literary classics like Dickens, but I also like more modern reading like self-help/improvement books where you can learn new things.

The first book that I have started is Four Thousand Weeks and I'm not sure where I got this recommendation from or saw this book. Possibly from Jon in the CTP discord or on the Cryptomaniacs podcast.

I've read many of the classics such as the 4-hour work week et al and other books and am interested to see what this book might offer. My current thoughts on time management and productivity are to work your ass off for the first 4 hours of the day and then relax and do what you want for the rest. Trying to implement that is another thing though.

My next book is about myths and legends which is a current interest for me to read more about. This is a pretty large book and I am looking forward to getting started.

The final book I ordered because I think I saw a trailer for the documentary of the same name and they were reading passages from the book and I thought I would like to read the book and understand it better. The trailer you can see here.

In the last couple of years I haven't been reading as much as previously, but still, hope to get back into the habit over Christmas time.

Thanks for reading.

Sponsors:

Sponsors of mypathtofire
empty
empty
empty

Credits:

All photos are my own.

Let's connect : mypathtofire

4
$ 0.11
$ 0.05 from @ZeroRequiem
$ 0.05 from @Patch
$ 0.01 from @SuperJulalaine
Avatar for mypathtofire
1 year ago

Comments

I am not into books but I sometimes like to read some. I can see that you are really into it and for sure it will take you far sir. Hihi.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, I do like to read as much as possible although its hard to find so much time these days. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, just do it when you have extra time sir. Don't overdo it..

The pleasure is mine.☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are indeed a reader. Merry Christmas to what you are doing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. Yes I like reading. Merry Christmas to you too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago