Teddy doesn't like to be combed

0 13
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Good evening guys. Hope you had a good day. Market is still pretty much red, but let's not lose hope in BCH, and market being green again. Today I am sharing some photos of my dog Teddy. He is a Samoyed, which means he has a long white hair. But what most people don't know, is that he also has short hair, underneath the long one. This is the hair that he lose when he is molting. It happens about 2 times a year, and it can last for a while. However, this is not the only time that he needs combing. He should be combed as often as possible, even each day. But thing is, Teddy hates it. He will go around and hide anywhere he can. He will threaten and bark, until he let go of it and give up on running away. That is, if it happens. Sometimes it is a battle of patience.

What I don't get is why he is doing it, because I know it doesn't hurt him. In contrary, it helps him a lot, specially when he is malting, with combing he will get rid of extra hair much faster. I feel like it would help him a lot, during summer, to lose hair faster, but he fights it each time. Last time, I had to comb him for 5-7 days, constantly when we go outside, just because more than half-time I would spend chasing him around. And when he finally calms down, since we were outside, as soon as he hears something he is up again, don't want to miss anything. After math was 3 compressed bags of his hair, that I put next to him in the end, and it was almost huge as he is. And there was still hair falling out, and he wasn't bald. Crazy.

I wish he would be more calm about this, it would make it faster and easier for all of us. But he hates it. And it might be genetic, since his father also hated it. But I know it's not the same for all Samoyeds. I always wondered how he would react if I took him to the groomer to wash and comb him, or how the groomer would react to him :D I don't thing he would be able to do anything, because Teddy also hates bathing as well. Not in the river, though. Also, I know some people, take their Samoyed to groomer to cut their hair, but this is a huge mistake, as longer hair is not growing up again, and with no hair to protect their pale and sensitive skin, they can have severe problems. So I would never do that, no matter how much trouble I have with him resisting.

All I can do is complain here about it, but in the end, I know how much of a responsibility is a dog, specially needy like this one, and I have chosen it, so I will do it of course. It's just one little thing, compared to all the happiness and love he gives to us. But if you are thinking about having a dog, make sure you are ready for it, and all that comes with it.

Photos included in this article are original and taken by me.

Thank you for reading my post ^^

3
$ 0.90
$ 0.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Duvinca
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Comments