At The Mall ( EAD )

17 81
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

I was lying on the rooftop with my head in my hand as I was tossing the tennis ball up and down. The stars never looked so bright and the sky never looked so clear before.

Before this apocalypse happened, you wouldn't see a single star at night from the pollution in the air and from the blinding lights the buildings use. It's just funny to think that it's quite ironic. The city feels so alive back then, but nature is now more alive when the humans are dead.

I threw the ball further and I failed to catch it. It bounced and rolled on over. Alfred was quick to run after it though. He was so enthusiastic to fetch that ball. He was even barking while running towards it. I don't know what he sees in that ball, is it because it's green? It's grassy? He's pretty happy whatever it is, and I'm fine with it. I just wish I could be as excited as he is again.

I sat back up and tried to sip from the bottle of rum beside me. There were just a few drops on it.

"Hey, you bored again?"

I hurriedly turned to her with a wide smile on my face.

"Karen, where have you been. I have been looking all over the place for you. I told you that you can stay here. This freaking five-star hotel is just too much for me to live in alone."

She just chuckled at me and walked towards the edge of the rooftop.

"Nah, I would just feel imprisoned here. I literally have the whole world to myself now. It's a shame if I wouldn't get this chance to travel it." she said while looking at the sky.

It may have been the lighting of the stars but she really looked melancholic to me.

"I'll get another one," I said as I hurriedly ran down towards the bar of the hotel.

What a surprise when I got into the bar of the hotel.

Curses!!!

I couldn't believe it myself. In the months that I have been living here alone, I have managed to go through all the bottles in the bar. I guess it's time to fetch some more stocks.

I rushed towards the rooftop with an empty bottle in my hand.

"Karen, I just have to go to the mall... Karen?"

I looked around and she's nowhere to be found. I paced around the rooftop with Alfred and still, she was not there. Maybe she went off by herself again. Just, as usual, she comes and goes as she pleases. One moment she's there, the next one she's gone.

Shrugging her disappearing act as normal, I set out for the mall. I hopped in my truck fired up the lights, revved up the engine and I was on my way to the mall. I skipped the one nearest and went towards a bigger mall. I wanted to have more selection of booze.

The lonesome drive took me over an hour. And that's without traffic! There's nothing playing on the radio so Alfred was just sitting fast asleep on the passenger side.

The clear sky and the darkest of night cloaks the whole surrounding, that's why the lights up ahead appeared to be so bright. Wait? So bright? Lights? My heart leaped upon the sight.

What was that light? I was like a moth drawn to it and I pressed the pedal to the metal as hard as I could. Alas! It's the mall! I have never been so happy to see the mall in my entire life.

I jumped out of the truck with the engine still running and ran inside the mall. And there's a song playing! I never heard this song before but I quite like it. The singer feels a different kind of vibe from my usual playlist where people are screaming, growling, and just plain dying for songs. What is this wonderland? Like a lunatic, I danced around the lobby with the mall's lively light.

"Hello?! Is anyone there?!"

And then a scream came out from nowhere. I was not sure where it came from but I ran towards the general direction of the sound. With my gun drawn, I ran towards it. Just in front of a gaming store, a figure of a thin woman was there. I slowly made my approach with the gun pointed at her.

"Uhm. Hello? Are you okay?"

Haloa!!!

Whoa! It has been months since I last published under this series. I did not forget about it but I just couldn't find the time to work on it. But here it is, another installment to Earth After Dark. And this is all thanks to @KirstenCassandra who made a couple of posts under this theme. Thanks, dear for reviving this dead world. LOL.

This one was my last post on the community : And There She Comes.

This particular article follows the article : Earth After Dark : A Blessing or a Curse (Part Two) .

I hope you visit both articles to make sense of this particular offering.

If you would like to jump in on the lonesome fun, you may want to check this one out : Earth After Dark : The Setting.

I really appreciate you visiting this humble page and I offer thee a toast to our friendship...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Series    : Earth After Dark
Title     : At the Mall
Published : 28-Nov-2021
Author :  © RB

18
$ 8.25
$ 7.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Ayane-chan
+ 7
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

"Are you okay?" Hmm.. Who is he asking? Is that the girl with progeria? Pero sa mabasa ko nakaassemble na yung robot and all, eh. New character? 🤔

Anyway, I think meron na dapat compilation to ng parts arranged by time of publish eh. Naisip ko lang naman,para may susundan yung nagbabasa. Try ko minsan icompile lahat when I get time. 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oo. yan nga ung gagawin ko dapat eh. kaya lang medyo nagtangle up ung episodes. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aabangan ko next nito ba. Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Naintriga ako sino si Karen. Mukhang nawala na ko sa sinusundan ko. 😁 mabasa na nga ulit ang ibang episode.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah sana ay magustuhan mo din ung iba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo naman po. Malamang yan magugustuhan ko din po yung iba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halaa oiii baka zombie ung thin woman na iyan ha hahaha. I also want to do this kaso diko alam pano simulan aguy

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha malay natin...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm tempted to write another one now, not gonna wait for Elle anymore. 🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Waiting for part 2 heheheeh. I want to read more.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really na po ako sa susunod na kabanata sir😊.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha stay tuned..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's all because of you. This prompt sparked the idea for a series of posts in my head. Hehe. Thank youu, dear. 😊

Wait. Whaaaaa! 😄 I'm sorryyyy! Let me fix this bug, dear. Hehe. See you in Part 4!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha I'll try to organize this whole series.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, please. Whahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owwwww what will happen at the mall? Next please friend im curious now

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha will try to organize the posts first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago