My personal collection of technological objects from past times

10 45
Avatar for mc5punk
2 years ago

Greetings to all the people of the community. On this occasion I come to present a series of objects that belong to me and were used in the past, are currently in disuse because some are damaged and also because they have become obsolete by advances in technology. And without further introduction let's start.

3ยฝ" floppy disk

Its storage level was 1.44mb.

I got to use them when I was in school from the mid 90's of the XX century until the beginning of the 00's. At that time we had to have them to be able to save our work that had to be presented to our teachers as well as very important information about our research, on the other hand, we also stored certain files such as video games or images that were of our interest; these were excellent to save this kind of information because they had the necessary space for this kind of information but not to store multimedia (videos or audio, so CDs were required).

5ยผ" floppy disk

Its storage capacity was only 1200 KiB.

Unlike the previous ones, I never got to use them because I didn't have a computer, besides I was completely unaware of their existence because I was very small for the time when they appeared. The ones I own are due to the fact that one day I found them in the trash when I was walking the streets of my neighborhood.

Walkman

The equivalent of the Ipod of our days.

These were very popular in the 80's and 90's of the last century. In my case I always used it to listen to the songs on the cassette tapes that I got to record on the radio stations, or also to tune in to the radio stations (to do this the walkman had to have this option).

Cell phone

Motorola cell phone, model unknown.

This is a cell phone created by the Motorola company. I don't have much information about this device, I only know that it belonged to a relative who left it in my house for no reason.

If any of you have any knowledge or anecdotes to share, I would appreciate it.

Canon Camera

Semi-automatic camera for taking photographs.

This Canon camera also belonged to a relative who later gave it to The equivalent of the Ipod of our days.me as a gift, I only used it a couple of times, since at that time digital recordings were becoming popular thanks to cell phones. It is currently damaged.

Nokia cell phone

One of the installed video games is displayed on the screen.

One of the first I got to have was this Nokia model C1-01. It lasted me a long time and I must say that it is of great quality and resistance. Despite being simple, the performance of its battery could last up to three continuous days, also, it provided much comfort to write on your keyboard, but as for the negative aspect that came to have was the size of your screen, something that was very small when compared to those that exist today.

I hope you liked this collection, and I dare say that many of you will have fond memories. If you have any anecdotes to tell, please post them in the comments box and I will be glad to read them.

Without further ado, I bid you farewell until the next installment. See you soon.

Note: all images were taken with my Amazon Fire 7 tablet.

Sponsors of mc5punk
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 0.00
Sponsors of mc5punk
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mc5punk
2 years ago

Comments

Your collection is great. I had many cassette tapes, I listened to them very often when I was a child. I also had similar model of Nokia phone, I like phones like that even today. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much. And you are right, these Nokia phones are very good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are gems. Iโ€™m glad I still have floppies. Iโ€™m lucky to own some old CPUs, as well. Some were decapped and I was able to take nice photos of the surface pattern. Somewhere at my parentsโ€™ place there is a Walkman and audio cassettes, VHCs and a player, a wired home phone... all these early 2000 items ๐Ÿ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a whole museum on your hands ๐Ÿ˜ I wish I could see them, it would be great if you could publish an article narrating about your own belongings and anecdotes that each of these have with you ๐Ÿ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Certainly! I can write an article (or several ๐Ÿ˜„) on what I have at home. The Walkman, audio cassettes and the VHCs are at my parents' place but I can show sample stock photos instead, explaining in short what these are all about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds good to me. I'll keep an eye out for your posts, I'm curious what they look like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember having a 1 GB memory card in the time of floppy disk and felt like a GOD! lols hahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unbelievable. Don't you remember how much it cost you back then?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, it was a gift from my parents who were working abroad, they said it was like a floppy disk with bigger memory. They work in electronics so I didn't really know how much that costs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I imagine that when you got it you were overjoyed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago