Life from the soil of a pot

20 41
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

I like seeing new life growing from my old pots, pots with holes at the sides when the sunshine penetrates through, pots that were deteriorating. It would always be a wonder, what the new plants were because I like throwing in seeds of all sorts and see if they grow.

When I saw these babies, tiny and adorable, popping out from the soil, I immediately took photos of them with my iPhone 6. I tilted the phone upside down and literally chucked the phone into the pot to take these as-close-as-possible shots.

I have always enjoyed macro photography and I like to test my iPhone to see how well it photographs a small object. While its macro photography function was not as great but to be able to photograph something small and to see it enlarged in a photograph, the feeling is indescribable.

These shoots were just about 1cm to 2cm in height. They were purple spinach babies that grew from the black seeds that you see at the top of some just starting to bloom leaves.

When the camera focused on different shoots, the bokeh effect was quite amazing. The baby spinach shoots were tilted towards the light source as the pot was at a balcony.

Some shots were taken from the top, moving as close as possible to the plants.

There were bigger plants in the pot too and this shot was a comparison between the new babies with the bigger shoots that stood out.


All the photos were taken using my iPhone 6, with its square frame function without any filters in 2019.


This is my second entry in support of @wakeupkitty 's SYT: Creative SmartPhone Photography's Community contest, together with @heartbeat1515 : https://read.cash/@wakeupkitty/smartphone-photography-contest-entries-bc425a87


6
$ 0.19
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @heartbeat1515
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

You need to know how small it in reality is to notice the difference. I like the third photo. Have you noticed all baby plants are looking exactly the same if they just come out of the seed?

How do you split different seeds/plants once bigger? If they are tangled it's hard. I wish I had a greenhouse to plant preferably on tables. It would be helpful to me.

Thanks for your 2nd entry about new life. 👍🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Yes you are right, they all look the same. We have to wait till they are taller and more developed before we can identify them :D I usually just dig them out together with the soil and let the "survival of the fittest" theory take place :) You can build a small greenhouse to start with? Maybe can use one of those small aquariums.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They look cute, what plant is that? It's hard to distinguish plant when it was just sprouting because they all look the same after coming out from the seed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are :) They are little purple spinach. You are right, I usually wait until they are taller before I check the internet to try to identify the plant :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay, spinach it's my favorite leafy veggies 😍 I like your hobby planting it's good hobby and seeing the plants grow will make you happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My favourite too :) It is when the plants grow to a point that is harvestable but when they die or stunted (which happens quite often with me because I do not have green fingers), it can be quite disappointing. But I just keep trying :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh is real that when you don't have that green fingers your planted plants will not bloom? Well before, my mom use to plant a lot from flowers, veggies and sweet potatoes. I remember I help her and the one I planted grow, maybe it depends on the soil or the location where you put the plants?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe I think so. Though I think those with green fingers are those who know their plants, i.e. type of soil,how much sun and water, etc. I am not as committed with plants, so half would die while the other half survives :) What did you plant with your mom?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well about the soil you should plant on that loam soil, with exact moisture, and about sunlight put the plants on the spot where sunlight is visible, so plants will not undergo chlorosis it means lacking sunlight when the leaves are in color yellow instead of green. When watering the plant, water it in the morning and afternoon only, do not water the plant when its too sunny the plants will die.

We plant, flowers, sweet potatoes and corns. I miss planting though..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yah each plant has different needs. Some like sunlight, some just a little. Sometimes, it is experimenting. I have read about the watering the plant in mornings or evenings, when the sun is not too hot because if we water them when the soil is hot, it will akin to pouring water to a hot pan and the roots will die. Why do you not plant anymore?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, exactly the roots will die if we water the plants when it's hot. I live in a city now, with a limited place no vacant spot for planting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you in relation to throwing seeds to see which ones grow or if the seeds are born or not. I usually do it with tomato seeds, paprika and chili peppers. And I also throw in the avocado and mango seeds. I like to see how these seeds germinate without the need for any care. Your seedlings are elongated, it seems that they do not have much sun.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah I have not tried tomato. Chili I have tried and successfully harvested last time. I tried avocado and mango seeds too but they didn't grow in my little pots. Hehe yah, there is not much sun where I live, in an apartment. The morning sun has moved and doesn't visit often. I will have to wait for later of the year.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How I miss the moment when my husband is still working in his vegetable garden. I cannot take care of plants properly but my husband does. He was really happy that time, I hope that moment will come again soon.

I like your last shot best for I can see the texture of the soil you're using. That could be a wallpapers. May I use it for wallpaper?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes please go ahead and use it. It is an honor that you would like to use it for wallpaper :) Oh maybe he can start a vegetable garden again at your new house? It is quite joyous to see vegetables grow and when you get to harvest :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the permission. I hope he will start again and be happy again. I hope the house will start soon too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago