Drift

6 17
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

I woke up late.

I could have woken up earlier but my eyes were heavy. The alarm rang since 6:00am. I kept snoozing it. I had another alarm set for 6:30am, in case the earlier one failed to wake me up. Somehow, my alarm stopped ringing. I couldn't remember if I stopped it. I guess all the alarms failed me today.

When I finally woke up, it was near 10:00am. Darn. Not good. I had another alarm set for 8:30am which I must have whacked it to stop too. But I didn't feel sleepy, having slept at 2am the night before. Maybe I needed that extra sleep.

I brushed my teeth and my mind drifted.. Drifted to yesterday, drifted to yesteryears. How often does the mind drift in a day I wondered.

"I didn't understand what you've just said, dear."

I remembered these words from my then home English tutor. I was 6, maybe 7. I had spent 15 minutes telling her a funny story, well, I thought it was funny until she said that she didn't understand a word.

I looked at her blankly. I was crushed. How could she not understand a word I've said? Was I that bad? I guess I was.

I couldn't remember what story I was telling her but I remembered it was a funny one because I was laughing when I told her the story.

I was a quiet child. I didn't speak much but I thought I spoke well that day. My tutor, a young but can be grouchy sometimes lady, came to our house once a week to teach us English. We had only 1 month of classes with her. Not long at all.

I didn't quite like her because she spent half the time checking her hair and make-up instead of filling our mind with knowledge on how to write and read in English. Sometimes her lipstick stained her teeth but I didn't say anything.

And my mind drifted back. I didn't have any toothpaste foam left in my mouth, that was quite a long mind drift.

Time to start the day.

July 19, 2020 - 10:15am.


7
$ 0.00
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

That was fun when you said her lipstick stained her teeth. 😂 so this is the reason why you have good english skills.... only few can afford to have private tutors..you're lucky you had one. Make sure to tutor your kids by yourself to avoid having annoying tutor..haha..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha.. it looked pretty disgusting. Yah lucky or not, I am still trying to determine that :D Maybe lucky that I got her and she pushed me to learn and improve. Hmm.. may be a topic that I can write more about hehe. Those days, private tutors were cheap I think because they were mostly students waiting for college results before starting work or those in between jobs. Yes! Haha.. Although the syllabus would have changed entirely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At least, you improved or on your own . And you can taught your own kids no need to pay for a tutor

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I doubt she was interested in your story at all. To her you most likely made a l disturbing noise while she was busy inspecting her nails. What she said was enough to make you shut up and tell you your English sucks. 😕💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yes, she checked her nails too! And I did shut up, submerged in embarrassment. But thanks to her, I kept learning - not from her :D Thank you @wakeupkitty <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see her. There was a similar nanny for my brother. What a nasty, selfish person.

$ 0.00
3 years ago