A long ride

2 19
Avatar for mad-runner
3 years ago
Topics: Sports

This is the summary of my past as an amateur athlete, I was a decent runner, who also took away some satisfaction, also considering the fact that in our times the performances I obtained decades ago would always be at an amateur level, even more tempting, I hope to do what you like...

A long ride - The absolute debut

As in all things, there is always a start, which in this case must be taken literally, because I will tell you about the first race ever in which I took part, now more than 40 years ago, a 5 km run on the sand , roundtrip.

We can say that we were still at the dawn of running, the passion was great, even among the organizers, but the results from the practical side sometimes left a lot to be desired, as in the case of the race management staff, who became the protagonist of a gross error , so a second start had to be made, after something had gone wrong in the first.

I was little more than a little boy, 12 years old, it was a completely new world for me, and a very special period, my brother was returning from serious problems, there was a need for a turning point in his life, starting a new sporting activity could be actually of help, and so he did, as a faithful little squire I joined.

The paradox was that, probably due to the double start, in that first race, as there was no junior / chicks category, I beat my brother, I think it was the first and last time it happened, the so-called beginner's luck.

The following Sunday we went inland, for a competition divided regularly between adults and chicks, which classically concerned the over 14 for the adult category and under 14 for the youth categories.


I remember little and nothing of that race, as of several others that followed in that first year of activity, one of which I was most impressed, it was November, a notoriously rainy month, and that Sunday was no exception, a dense and annoying rain fell, almost a storm, until the last I did not know if I had competed, because my brother did not agree very much, knowing what our father would say, but in the end my obstinacy got the upper hand, bringing me to the starting line.

It was raining "diolamandava", a few minutes still on the starting line were enough to soak the sportswear, so I competed all nice soaked.

I placed 10th overall, this brilliant placement earned me the last prize in the category, a beautiful assorted box of pencil colors, at the time I liked drawing a lot (even now, but with much worse results), so the prize was very welcome.

Sundays went by, the passion and attachment to running increased, the Sunday race became a fixed and essential event, I often competed among adults, there were very few checks at the time, so if I wanted to compare myself with the older ones, the fact it was tolerated and not forbidden as now.

Keep it going...

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for mad-runner
3 years ago
Topics: Sports

Comments

I wonder how you spend your Sundays now. Running is no longer in it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder how you spend your Sundays now. Running is no longer in it?

Hello my dear friend, unfortunately I am dusting off these memories, which are very dated, my current situation is very different from what I was, even if the desire to start moving again, at least on paper, is there, thank you for the your passage ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago