"Isda Sa Merkado"

18 97
Avatar for lonestranger
1 year ago

Can you name every fishes found in the market?

While I was on Facebook yesterday, I stumbled upon a person named Cris Ponsica who posted crucial informations about the fishes found in your market.

He captioned it,"For everyone's information." sounding like he knew that most of the youths nowadays who are on social media platforms don't know. And I can say I'm guilty for real haha.

Throughout my years of existence, this is the first time I got to know each of them very well. I can recognize some including bangus, tilapia, diwit, tamban, bilong-bilong, and bolinao but other than that, they're only familiar 'cause I can't really distinguish which of them is which as they look so the same already. Whenever my parents tell me to buy this and that, I only used to ask the vendor if they're selling it haha. To go further, let's dissect some simple but essential informations below, however, I'm not sure if their names are still the same in Tagalog.

Tulingan or Bullet Tuna

This is how tulingan looks like in person. It has thin velvety scales, a sharply forked tail, vertical stripes on its back, and vertical stripes on its tail. Typically, this is found offshore in temperate and tropical seas, swimming through the deep ocean in a school.

Budburon or Mackerel Scad

As you can see, budburon's belly is white and its fins range in color from black metallic to blue-green. It has a tiny, black patch along the operculum's margin which is the gill's protection provided by a bony flap of skin across their gills but the lateral line, running along their body's side, is spotless. It's tail or the caudal fin was said to be reddish to yellow-green. From above, the yellowish color is only visible.

Anduhaw or Mackerel

Can be easily identified right? It has a circular, torpedo-shaped, with a row of small finlets behind the dorsal and anal fins, a forked tail, a slender, and keeled tail base.

Bangus or Milkfish

My favorite! Thus, I can quickly distinguish this kind of fish from its olive green body hue, silvery flanks, and dark fin borders. Physically, in addition, it seems sleek and generally symmetrical, with a long, nearly compressed body. I always feel confident whenever I'm told to buy this fish haha.

Tilapia or Cichlid Fish, Fresh Water Fish

Although tilapia resembles sunfish or crappie in shape, you can tell them apart because of the Cichlid fish family's distinctive interrupted lateral line.

Bolinao or Anchovy

It's also pretty easy to recognize because of its small size. Bolinaos are very tiny, sleek fish that resemble herrings in appearance and are usually identified by their large mouth extending back well beyond the eye. They also have a straight lateral line and pointed, lower jaw-protruding nose as well as a large, readily detachable scales. According to Donald and Beamish (2009), bolinaos can appear in vast schools for decades, then vanish the following year, reappear the following year, and so on.

Morning or Yellowtail Fusilier

I once thought that colorful fishes cannot be eaten as they are poisonous, but I was wrong. There are some that are really delicious such as this Morong fish. As you can see, one thing that will always remind you of this fish is the top of its caudal peduncle, the caudal fin, and the soft region of the dorsal fin are all yellow.

Mamsa or Trevally Fish

Beautiful isn't it? Mamsa fish has a high head profile as you can see above, robust tail scutes, and a number of other more specific anatomical characteristics set the huge trevally apart. It is typically silvery with sporadic dark patches, although males may turn black once they reach maturity. Such kind of fish is a key species for commercial fisheries and a recognized gamefish, and it is caught by both anglers and professionals using bait and lures as well as nets and lines.

There are still 17 kinds of fishes he posted that I can't include for today's blog because my cold keeps on bothering me and I can't think straight. Well, knowing what kind of fishes you'll run across is also helpful. You might as well remember these names from now on.


That's it for today.

Thanks. Owe you big time! ✿

Lead Image: Source

7
$ 0.44
$ 0.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Unity
$ 0.02 from @Lhes
+ 2
Sponsors of lonestranger
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for lonestranger
1 year ago

Comments

Yes I can do that kase we used to have a talipapa in my younger years tapos Yung Mami ko will teach me the names nung fishes taga Samar kase sya tanong dagat

$ 0.01
1 year ago

that's amazingg, sama kita sa palengke sa susunod magquiz tayo hahahaha joke

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako sis, kilala ko mga isda na mostly namention kaso yung iba sa palengke hindi ko din kilala but nagtatanong ako kasi baka sabihin nakain lang na hindi alam ang kinain o binili.hehehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

tama ka nga naman sis hahaha maganda yan nagtatanong nga lang rin ako kapag hindi ko alam eh yari talaga ako kay mama hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha hindi ko din masyado kilala mga isda. Laking gulay kasi ako

$ 0.01
1 year ago

wow ang ganda naman po nyan sobrang nakakahealthy, noon naggugulay kami araw-araw pero dumating yung panahon na nag isda na rin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala dati pambili isda😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa lahat ng isda ang tawag ko lang isda 😆

$ 0.01
1 year ago

ahahaha nakakatuwa ka naman pero diva atleast may alam ka na konti sa mga names ngayonn

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, if you know little about fish, let me tell you that I know much less, I had only heard of Tilapia, maybe I have eaten it and I don't know, but the only thing I recognize is salmon because it is orange and the wheels of tuna.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

ohh I see hahaha this is the first time I hear a fish named salmon and what's more amazing is that it's orange, I'm always amazed with fishes that are very colorful 💗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Abi nakog atik atik ra to nimo madi HAHAHHAHAHAH

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😭😭😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Char HAHHAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm only familiar with very few fish names , bangus, tilapia and galunggong to be exact hhaha. Tapos yung iba puro isda na lang tawag ko without specific name hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

ahahaha same.x kakalito kasi ehh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm guilty as well nga di ko kabalo sa ubang names sa isda. Ang mga sige lang nako paliton ang nabibaw an nako, hehehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

ahahaha appear te😄 makalibog jud sila ayy

$ 0.00
1 year ago