An effective formula that opens up flexibility

0 37
Avatar for liveup
Written by
1 year ago

I find Pareto's 80/20 rule applicable and realistic, as it is one of the rules that describes the best relationship between what we do and its results. It's a rule of thumb that opens up flexibility for you to replace "I tried, it didn't work" diets.

We want to adopt healthy habits and we do not want to stay away from the pleasures of life. One of the dominant understandings of the last period is the 80/20 rule, which is a method. The 80/20 rule is also known as the Pareto Rule. And it is possible to define it like this: 80 percent of the results you achieve are due to 20 percent of what you do.

Or another interpretation is as follows: The rate of understanding, concluding and transforming a community, an action or a concept is 20 percent. You can assume that the lesson you teach to a class will reach 80 percent of people, but 20 will not have understood it. The reverse of this ratio is also possible. In short, 100 percent success cannot be achieved at once. The rule is actually to break the 100 percent expectation. It leads us to a slightly more realistic way of thinking. That's why it's a way of thinking that I love and I definitely apply it in my life. What are the benefits for me?

  • It takes me away from being a perfectionist.

  • It allows me to focus on the process 100 percent rather than focusing on the expectation.

  • It leaves time for fun and enjoyment as well as healthy thought and body support.

  • I include unsuccessful or bad days in the 20 percent portion, as it has taken over my life over time. This allows me to say, "Maybe, it's possible".

  • He emphasizes that in order to be sustainable, it is not necessary to escape, but to face and allow.

  • Regarding health, I would summarize this process as follows: As long as my healthy habits remain in the 80 percent group, there is no problem.

If quitting is not an option for you, you are in favor of maintaining small proportions of any habits that you think are harmful or that are keeping you from your daily work and health. If we evaluate your daily health level out of 100, 80 are your healthy habits (eating greens, getting protein, good sleep, healthy communication, doing sports, reading a book, smiling) and 20 are your bad habits (eating sweet or too salty, inactive). depressive thoughts, time spent in front of television, time spent on smartphones, shouting, aggressive behavior, distraction from mindful moments).

We all have habits that we cannot give up and it is possible to transform them, one of the easiest ways in these transformations is to replace a bad habit with a healthy habit. For example, if your sweet cravings are too intense to fit into my 20 percent slice, you can start replacing unhealthy options with healthy versions. Consuming healthy foods with high nutritional and fiber value such as dates/apricots/raisins instead of consuming too much chocolate creates a positive leap in your overall health. It is important not to miss the main point here. The main issue is not being able to change your unhealthy habit, that is, excessive sugar consumption. However, in the long run, the goal should be to reduce, and you can achieve this with healthy options. There is something that I need to underline here: I do not recommend you to give up chocolate, I say it is possible to reduce it. The 80/20 rule removes you from the list of no-nonsense and prohibitions and instead asks, “What can I do to stay balanced?” It makes you ask the question. I find it more logical and feasible.

1
$ 0.16
$ 0.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for liveup
Written by
1 year ago

Comments